Pecan Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe!!! I dont have marg. so I used 1 1/2 sticks butter and also added a tsp of vanilla before I poured on cracker/nuts.....cut small pieces & it goes quick...Just dont cook on stove too long or will taste burnt *trust me on that tip!!!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
These are so yummy! I always get rave reviews when I make these. I like to use chocolate graham crackers, and all butter instead of the margerine. I also sprinkle my pecans on after the glaze. They stay put that way and get a little extra toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Mom loves this. I used a full pack of graham crackers, and added a dash of vanilla. Scattered pecans under and on the butter mixture. Cooked 8-9 minutes to prevent burning. Used Pam on the foil, and I'm glad that I did. They were very easy to make- if you are using a flat cookie sheet, be sure to turn the edges of the foil upward to keep the liquid, which spreads out a lot during baking, from overflowing. I did have some problems with my graham crackers "shifting" during cooking. Cut into triangles for a beautiful presentation. I found them slightly too buttery in feel and taste, but still quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I went looking for this recipe after tasting some at a bake sale. I've made this recipe 2 times since then and neither batch has lasted longer than 24 hours! They are very easy to prepare, but be warned: They're hard to stop eating after you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. Turned out just great. I think next time if I make them I will use butter crackers instead of graham crackers. These should soak up the glaze better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Well I have been wanting to make these forever and finally got around to it. They turned out really yummy...kinda like pecan pie only so much easier. I'm not sure why the recipe calls for margarine and butter. I used all butter and they turned out fine. Also, not sure why the stove top mixture has to boil for three minutes. I was afraid it would taste burnt so as soon as it was nice and thick I spooned it over the crackers. Overall really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
We loved, loved, loved this recipe. I used a sleeve and a half of cinnimon grahams and since I didn't have enough pecans I used some walnuts too. I spinkled some nuts on before the butter mixture and the rest after. I also used all butter as well as a little vanilla extract. The sauce was a little thin so I then added some brown sugar and that made this a favorite here that I will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These were okay. I thought they could use more flavor. I'd do 1.5 times the sugar/butter mixture so they're thoroughly coated, and definitely don't leave them in for 12 minutes, unless you're doing it at a lower temp. My friend makes something similar but uses Saltines instead of graham crackers, doesn't use nuts, and puts chocolate chips on as soon as it comes out of the oven, spreading them once they've started to melt so it's a pretty smooth layer of chocolate. Wicked good that way; so-so when done the way this recipe's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This tastes soooo goood! I did take some of the suggestions: used brown sugar instead of white, crushed some Ritz crackers over the graham crackers, used cinnamon graham crackers (all I had) and sprinkled coconut over the topping before I baked it. Warning: THEY ARE ADDICTING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
awesome and easy!!! tastes like a heath bar cookie because i added a cup of dark chocolate chips before spreading the caramel. SOOOO good and super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States