Pecan-Coconut-Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
At a house dominated by regular Pecan Pie it held its own. I found unsweetened coconut flakes at Wal-Mart. I toasted them before incorporating them. Next time I think I will try light brown sugar, but that is just me tweaking. There is no need with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HoneyGram57
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I made two of these pies, one as directed and one with Splenda and an extra jumbo egg. A sugar-free version would need more tweaking however as my attempt resulted in a dry pie. However a dollop of cool whip made it enjoyable. The pie made per directions sold for $35 at the church bake sale. The purchaser informed me the pie was moist, unusual and enjoyed. It just has too much going on for my taste without anything really shining, I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyGram57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy E.
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I had an extra pie crust and was browsing AllRecipes to find a new pie to try. This recipe caught my eye because these are my three favorite pies! I figured it would be easy to taste the pecan and coconut, but I doubted whether the actual flavor of chess would come through. Boy, was I wrong! This pie actually tastes like all three pies in one. It is very sweet and rich and reminds me of all the pies I had growing up. Love it! I made it as-is except for the substitution of butter instead of margarine. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
very good, a great crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I only used 1 cup sugar and think it could go down to a 1/2 cup no problems. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
The pie was easy to make. It was good, but not great. When I ask my DH said it was ok. If I make it again, probably use only half of the coconut, and/or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is the best pie I've ever had. Pecan pie has always been my favorite but this puts a nice spin on it. My kids ate it up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great taste and easy. I left out the coconut and added extra pecans and it turned out just as I'd hoped - like a slightly firmer and less sweet version of a pecan pie. I did need to bake this uncovered longer after I removed the foil and it was still runny in the middle even after cooling. Don't know if it had anything to do with my modifications. But it was still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I made this pie for a fundraiser at work and the feedback was terrific. It does exactly what the contributer says: combines the best of three Southern pies; pecan, coconut, and chess. It is yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States