Pecan Clouds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
These are absolutely wonderful...whenever I make these for someone new, they fast become their favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
These were a huge hit for holiday gift-giving. I'm in love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I love these cookies. Pecans have always been my favorite nut. They came out perfect the first time I made them, and this was the first "meringue" recipe I had ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
These cookies are wonderful. They were so easy to make, I actually liked how long they took to cook. I was not rushing into the kitchen after 8 minutes, finding they were not done, keeping them in a little longer and over cooking them. THESE ARE DELICIOUS! Thanks Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! ** There are a few helpful tips I found to make your egg whites/meringue perfect. 1. Make sure all mixing tools are impeccably clean and dry before starting. 2. Cold eggs separate more easily, but the ideal temp. for whipping eggs whites is room temp. 3. Keep yolks out of the whites as even a tiny amount of fat or yolk will ruin your meringue. 4. Add sugar to your whites gradually - a few spoonfulls at a time. 5. To test and make sure the sugar is dissolved into your egg whites: Rub a little of the beaten whites between your fingers - if the mixture feels gritty, the sugar is not completely dissolved. Beat in short increments until the whites are completely smooth. ** I roughly chopped my pecans which made each bite of these lovely little clouds even more heavenly! Thanks for this recipe, Joe! NOTE: another reviewer mentioned not being able to use a hand mixer to achieve stiff peaks - this is not true. You can not only use a hand mixer, but also whip by hand! I've done both. It just takes some patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These are just toooo good! Thought I would have them around the house for a few days, but the family ate every last one of them in just a few hours! (Little piglets!) This recipe is easy and tastes like you went though a lot of trouble. I will be making them for Christmas gifts for my neighbors and friends at work. Use small Mason jars, fill 'em up and put a pretty bow on top. I can guarantee everyone will love them, unless they just don't like nuts. Won't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
These were great! There's hardly any left. The only thing I'll be doing different is I won't be baking them for as long as they got rather hard, so next time hopefully they'll be a little less hard and more "fluffy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
For a lower calorie version, try replacing the brown sugar with the Splenda Brown Sugar for Baking. Also, try adding cinnamon or nutmeg. Tasting them you'd never know just how simple they actually were to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nine Mile Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
very yummy and easy. don't try to make these using a hand mixer. I started that way and realized I would be at it for hours. you need a full powered stand mixer with a whisk attachment to get the egg white mixture to a hard peak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I loved these! They were so easy to make and I love the texture. My husband and a friend loved them too between the three of us we polished off the whole batch in two days. I think the people that had problems with their dough being too runny didn't wait for the egg whites to get stiff enough. The recipe is very, very easy...that's the only thing that takes a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States