Pecan Clouds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Excellent! Hubby and I couldn't stop eating them. As a gluten free girl, I'm always looking for cookies I can make AND eat, and these are perfect! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! ** There are a few helpful tips I found to make your egg whites/meringue perfect. 1. Make sure all mixing tools are impeccably clean and dry before starting. 2. Cold eggs separate more easily, but the ideal temp. for whipping eggs whites is room temp. 3. Keep yolks out of the whites as even a tiny amount of fat or yolk will ruin your meringue. 4. Add sugar to your whites gradually - a few spoonfulls at a time. 5. To test and make sure the sugar is dissolved into your egg whites: Rub a little of the beaten whites between your fingers - if the mixture feels gritty, the sugar is not completely dissolved. Beat in short increments until the whites are completely smooth. ** I roughly chopped my pecans which made each bite of these lovely little clouds even more heavenly! Thanks for this recipe, Joe! NOTE: another reviewer mentioned not being able to use a hand mixer to achieve stiff peaks - this is not true. You can not only use a hand mixer, but also whip by hand! I've done both. It just takes some patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
For a lower calorie version, try replacing the brown sugar with the Splenda Brown Sugar for Baking. Also, try adding cinnamon or nutmeg. Tasting them you'd never know just how simple they actually were to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nine Mile Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
very yummy and easy. don't try to make these using a hand mixer. I started that way and realized I would be at it for hours. you need a full powered stand mixer with a whisk attachment to get the egg white mixture to a hard peak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I loved these! They were so easy to make and I love the texture. My husband and a friend loved them too between the three of us we polished off the whole batch in two days. I think the people that had problems with their dough being too runny didn't wait for the egg whites to get stiff enough. The recipe is very, very easy...that's the only thing that takes a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I followed the directions exactly, but the batter was runny, the cookies were flat, and I only cooked them for half the time and they burned. The texture was like tree bark. I'll probably never get the crumbs scraped off my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
These delicious cookies were the first to go at the gathering I took them to. Everyone loved them and wanted the recipe.(Even though I forgot the vanilla)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I was a little nervous , however my Pecan Clouds turned out just like the picture! They keep well and taste fresh, sweet and nutty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
These were easy to make and quite pretty to look at as you can see by my picture, but I'm sorry to say I didn't like them. The egg white flavor was way too strong. I even added a little extra vanilla extract, but it didn't do the trick. Unfortunately I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
These are too easy and tooo good. I kept having to taste them to make sure they were as delicious as I thought they were, then I had to bake some more... It was such a vicious circle, thank goodness I finally ran out of pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States