Pecan Chocolate Chip Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This pie was a wonderful take on the traditional pecan pie. It was very easy (though I used frozen pie crust so I am sure that added to the easiness factor)but everyone loved it. Even the kids.The chocalate chips were not overpowering, just right. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this for christmas and everybody raved about it. I substituted sugar and water for the corn syrup (search for common substitutions on this site). I couldnt stop eating it, it tasted so good. I have made it several times since then and got the same reaction each time. This recipe is soo easy especially when you use pie shells that are pre made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and was very impressed with the way it turned out. I'll try another pie crust recipe, or buy a frozen crust next time. I needed more than the 5 T water called for, but then that made it tough. The filling was wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
WOW! Added more chocolate chips and more pecans - probably about 1 cup each. And put pecan pieces on top (like a traditional pecan pie.) Cook time was more like 45-50 minutes. Put whipped cream on top. And the result was amazing! Tasted almost like a chocolate pie with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I tried making this pie, and I finally gave after cooking it for an hour. The inside would not firm up and the outside started to burn. I have made different pecan pies before, and never had this problem. I will not be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari0406

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great pie! Didn't have chocolate chips on hand so substituted butterscotch chips & yummy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Turned out great, but I did have to bake it longer...more like 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H0neybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Filling was great, but I would not use the recipe for crust that was included. Taste was so so, but texture was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was incredible!! I don't like pecan pie but I loved this. Huge hit at thanksgiving. Only thing that was different for me was it took a lot longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this pie today. The only thing I did was used some almonds and walnuts in addition to the pecans because I ran short. I also left it in for an additional 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States