Pecan Chewies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michael Carmody
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Came out perfect the first time. Soft and gooey while still warm, then deliciously chewy the next day. I didn't have self-rising flour so I added baking powder and salt (the standard cheat). Excellent recipe; will definitely make again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carmody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I don't know if I did something wrong, I followed everything word for word??? They tasted good but I had to use 1/4 cup more of butter because the batter was so dry. The batter is not spreadable so be prepared to push and mold it into the pan. I would make again just to try to see if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
These are soo good!! Like a butter pecan brownie. 5 stars cause it's so easy to put together and because they are soo good!! My dough was crumbly too, I just worked it together with my hands and then pressed it into the pan. Awesome Tonya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
In one word: YUM! These are simply scrumptious. I followed the recipe as written. Next time I think I will use a baking sheet to achieve slightly thinner bars. Tastes like the perfect combination of pecan pie and a blondie (vanilla brownie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I love this recipe. Don't over cook the butter and sugar, just melt till all wet and stirring smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This turned out horrible, but I gave it 3 stars since I might have been responsible for that! I used all-purpose flour instead of the required self-rising flour...I don't know if this was responsible, but the top and sides were baked beautifully, but the inside was gooey and uncooked. The batter tasted delightful so there's potential...but again it could have been my fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Just like Mom made when I was younger. Great treat with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Excellent recipe! The brown sugar/butter mixture seemed thick or dry before I added the eggs, but by the time I added the rest of the ingredients, the batter was perfect. The result is a delicious treat that is somewhere between a blondie and pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I made these yesterday and my husband took them to work this morning. He has already called me to say that 2 people at his work wanted to know how much I would charge them to make them some? They where simple to make and oh so good. It reminded me of a chewie cookie thingie my grand mother use to make. A keeper for sure and with pecan season just a couple months away, I'm sure I will be making many more batches. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Effingham, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States