Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Really really easy, and great for the non-chocolate & non-nuts crowd...yet even I as a chocaholic still loved these. The only thing was I quadrupled the spices and even added a bit of ginger to the dough. They still turned out very lightly scented & lightly flavoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These were great, but my mom and dad both hinted that they were slightly bland. I rolled them into 1/2 inch balls and rolled them in sugar before baking them. After realizing that they weren't so sweet, I made a cinnamon glaze to spread on top of them, and both my parents agreed that it made all the difference. The glaze was made with 3 TBSP melted butter, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 TSP cinnamon, 1/4 TSP vanilla, and 1 TBSP milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Clearly a 'keeper'! This is a wonderful recipe of the traditional Danish cookie. It's not as sweet as the typical American cookie, where I normally have to reduce some of the sugar called for. Be warned: ground cardamon is expensive (about $10 for a regular size bottle). But its flavour is subtle and balances well with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mozart lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
these were incredible! so cute and tasty =) i wish i would have added a little bit more of the spices and a dash of vanilla, but they turned out fabulous anyway! i also coated them with powdered sugar when they were slighty cooled and they looked beautiful on red christmas plates =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I halved the recipe. It was too sticky to ball or roll into a rope so I made drop cookies. The cookie was kind of bland. If I were to make it again, I would up the spices 1/4 tsp each. My hubby went out into the rain to get me the cardamom from the store. He too was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made these cute little cookies this morning and I had 255 cookies! I made them as directed but made the rope smaller as I liked the crispy texture of the small little bundles. The dough was sticky and rather than adding more flour, I chilled them over night. I liked them just as they were but my husband likes sweeter cookies so I rolled them in sugar and some in cinnamon sugar instead--perfect ! Next time I will double the spices. My grand daughters will love these because they just look like a tea party ready to happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Perfect for the office Christmas party. Everybody loved the bite sized nibbles. Many had never tasted cardamom and are now hooked (I add more than called for as it is probably my favourite baking spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made these cookies for the first time and they were a hit! My Mom wanted me to bake some more for the church christmas concert. First I followed the one review that said to double the spices in the recipe and then add mace, cloves, ginger, and pepper. Also rather than cut out nugget pieces I used a cookie press since the dough was the perfect soft, slightly sticky consistancy. Beautiful and delicious - this is a KEEPER recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Wow. These. Cookies. Were. Amazing! The best part was that the ingredients were so easy to find! I'm living in India so am always pleased to find recipes like this, as some western ingredients aren't available here. I even used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and whole cardomoms instead of the powder. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I loved these cookies! I made some in ball shape and some as the recipe specifies. The ones rolled out and cut like the recipe directs were better. The cardamom in these is so unexpected - they're really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States