Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These are lovely. I may suggest to put more cardemomma though. I added an extra 1/4 cup flour to the original recipe, because the dough was too sticky to handle. Also I used 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I also rolled the dough in 1 inch diameter balls instead of cutting them and baked for 13 min. After cooling I sifted alittle powdered sugar on top. The result was great. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canan Ersoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I loved the fact that these weren't too sweet and are perfect with a cup of tea, but my husband and daughter both didn't care for them, therefore the 4 star rating. I'd still suggest it, however, for a nice change from the sugar-overload we all experience at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pearlgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I followed a previous reviewer's suggestion and doubled the cinnamon and cardamom as well as added a dash of both white pepper and mace. While by no means a "pretty" cookie - my, did they taste heavenly. I think the looks turned off a lot of people, because I found myself prodding people to try them. Once they did, they didn't stop at one. Going to need to find a way to make them a little more attractive for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Wasn't very impressed with this recipe. Cookies were very easy to prepare at least but the it was lacking in taste. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These were suprisingly delicious. We made for some family friends who are from Finland and they said flavor reminded them of home. Thank you so much for the recipe. I can see us making these for ourselves next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kealakekua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Really really easy, and great for the non-chocolate & non-nuts crowd...yet even I as a chocaholic still loved these. The only thing was I quadrupled the spices and even added a bit of ginger to the dough. They still turned out very lightly scented & lightly flavoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These were great, but my mom and dad both hinted that they were slightly bland. I rolled them into 1/2 inch balls and rolled them in sugar before baking them. After realizing that they weren't so sweet, I made a cinnamon glaze to spread on top of them, and both my parents agreed that it made all the difference. The glaze was made with 3 TBSP melted butter, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 TSP cinnamon, 1/4 TSP vanilla, and 1 TBSP milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Clearly a 'keeper'! This is a wonderful recipe of the traditional Danish cookie. It's not as sweet as the typical American cookie, where I normally have to reduce some of the sugar called for. Be warned: ground cardamon is expensive (about $10 for a regular size bottle). But its flavour is subtle and balances well with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mozart lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
these were incredible! so cute and tasty =) i wish i would have added a little bit more of the spices and a dash of vanilla, but they turned out fabulous anyway! i also coated them with powdered sugar when they were slighty cooled and they looked beautiful on red christmas plates =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I halved the recipe. It was too sticky to ball or roll into a rope so I made drop cookies. The cookie was kind of bland. If I were to make it again, I would up the spices 1/4 tsp each. My hubby went out into the rain to get me the cardamom from the store. He too was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States