Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Since my Paternal Grandmother was half Norwegian and half Danish I had to make these. I doubled the Cardamon and added 1/2 tsp white pepper and 1/4 tsp ground ginger as other reviewers suggested to make them more authentic. Very good, you don't really taste the pepper until after you've eaten your last bite of cookie so it's not an overpowering peppery taste. Good to know if you are not a pepper fanatic like my son is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Fantastic! Misplaced the Cardamom, so substituted with Ginger. Just as nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These are delicious and simple. I had a1 time getting mine to raise like the picture showed so they looked very square. However, this could have been because I had to use an egg substitute for allergies in our family so I could not downgrade for that. I loved how small they were and very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I think the recipe is great. That said, I did make a few changes that other reviewers suggested... such as additional spice. I added 1/4 t white pepper, some allspice, ginger and cloves and upped the cardamom to 1 1/2 t. They were 'too' spicy for my 6 year old... so maybe next time I'll tone that back a bit. Normally he loves cinnamon and other Christmas spices, but it was a bit much. (not for me, just for him) I think a tab more flour is needed as my cookies flattened out very quickly and got crusty edges on some. I did roll some of them in sugar, just to see the results and did like the little outer crunch it gave as well as making them look pretty. So, when I do these for Christmas, I think I'll do them with the sugar. I imagine some colored sugar on there would work well too and be very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley c.
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Delicious & addictive little spiced shortbread cookies! I followed other's advice & doubled the cardamom & cinnamon. I also added about 1/2 tsp vanilla, & 1/4 tsp each of ginger, nutmeg, ground cloves & white pepper (I've made them w/o the white pepper & I enjoy them both ways). It may sound strange, but the flavor reminded me of pumpkin pie. After the dough is made, just grab a small handful of it, roll it out on a floured surface then use a pizza cutter to cut into the size you like. Just know that depending on the thickness & size, they'll cook differently (bigger the size = longer the baking time). My husband loves these w/ his coffee so it's nice making them a little longer, like biscotti, for dunking. Rings would work well too, or even a figure '8' shape, like Kringla. The cookies are done when the very bottom edge of the cookie starts to turn a light brown.**A few notes about the cardamom: One way to tell if you'll enjoy it's flavor is if you enjoy Chai tea. Chai spice almost always has cardamom seeds in it (along with cinnamon, ginger, cloves, pepper & nutmeg). I usually had trouble finding ground cardamom in stores where I lived in the US. But we live in India now & cardamom is used in many local dishes, so if you have trouble finding ground cardamom, try your local Indian grocer & look for "Elaichi Powder".** Lastly, make sure to double the recipe if you've got a full house - these cookies won't last a full 24 hours once people get their hands on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were delicious with their unique flavor, perfect for filling in the little spaces on the cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I love these cookies! My husband was talking fondly of this cardamom bread his uncle makes, so when I saw this recipe, I thought it was worth a try. I had never had cardamom before, and thought it smelled really strong out of the bottle, but these cookies are so delicious. I like making them small like the recipe says and popping them in my mouth one after another. These will definitely stay one of my favorite cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
they weren't bad, very crispy. ok with a cup of tea or coffee. deffinately wont make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Love these! But i ended up using two tablespoons of cinnamon and one tablespoon of nutmeg instead of the cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
With the addition of a dash of ginger and cloves, double the cinnamon and cardamom, and 1/4tsp white pepper, this is a phenemonal recipe. Light, spicy and delicious. Make lots; you can eat these by the handful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States