Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
As a true dane I must say that this recipe is incomplete. As the name Peber Nodder indicates the recipe calls for Pepper! To get the real flavor of this traditional cookie you must add white pepper and ginger. As a child I made these every year with my mom and we never went through the trouble of rolling, we simply plugged little pieces of the dough and rolled them into balls in our hands. Much more fun and the whole family can participate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BNMacKenzie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a very tasty, very tender shortbread cookie. It's addictive, in fact! I don't like cardamom, so I subbed 1/2tsp nutmeg for it and they turned out great! Slightly spicy (from the cinnamon), not too sweet, they're perfect with some hot cocoa or coffee. They are a little bit of work to shape, but otherwise, I can't rate them high enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These cookies were OK. My husband didn't care for them and my daughter and I thought they were OK....If I made them again, I would use less cinnamon, I think that would have tasted better and more to our liking. The dough is nice for a cookie press though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I tried it initially exactly as written. The dough was sticky, so I chilled it for several hours before rolling it into 'fingers' as directed. I did not add more flour, though it was sticky to work, it was not unmanagable. I did most of the rolling by wrapping the segments of dough in the lg ZipLoc bag i'd chilled the dough inside. I will add a bit more flour next time (perhaps a half cup) My cookies, though I cut them as directed, did 'soften' when baked into small 'coin' shapes. Making them as directed is (IMO) faster than trying to drop them onto sheet. Cookie has a crisp bottom and a softer top (but not at all 'chewey' when sized and baked as directed) Flavor is mild, but nice. The Cardamom tastes ginger=like to me. I will have NO trouble using this spice in other recipes. I will make this cookie again with additional flour, a bit (1/4-1/2 t) more of the spices, and bake them a bit longer (1-2 min) for more 'crisp'. This will be a nice 'light' summer cookie, perhaps with fruit, or crushed as topping or crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
But being as I live in Denmark I have to say that this recipe is missing white pepper as part of the ingredients. That is one of the essential ingredients to Pebber (Pepper) Nodder. They taste so great with 1/2 tsp. white pepper. Try adding that to the recipe its even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
A very subtle cookie, not very sweet - which isn't a bad thing... I tend to like my cookies quite sweet :-) I doubled the cardamom & cinnamon, added the white pepper and mace. I did roll into little balls rather than roll and cut. Next time I'll probably add the vanilla like some other reviewers, and roll in icing or granulated sugar. I wanted to try it first as originally written before experimenting. Mine turned out quite cakey in texture - not chewy at all. I think in the holiday season with all the super sweet things on the cookie platter these are a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These were the easiest cookies I've ever made, and they're cute and very tasty! I'll definitely make them again. I might add more cinnamon and cardamom, or try some cloves. Great, easy cookies that would be fun to make with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These are simple to make, and addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraJLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
WOW! These are by far the BEST representation of the Taste of Christmas I have ever had! I made it as directed and they came out soft and delicious. Thank you for sharing; this has been added to my top 5 favorite cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Hmmm, I'm not sure how valuable this recipe is. Here's the thing. They ARE addicting, but they are NOT fabulous tasting (maybe they're only addicting to us carbo-holics???) I WILL make them again, but mostly because the cardamon is so expensive that I don't want it to sit in the pantry and go to waste, since I doubt I'll use it for anything else. They are not "all that", which I was hoping for after reading other reviews. They are, however, a good "fill-in", I guess you could say. They're tiny, kind of plain, nothing to look at, but they will vanish! The dough, however, does seem to be very versatile with lots of potential and possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States