Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These are delicious and simple. I had a1 time getting mine to raise like the picture showed so they looked very square. However, this could have been because I had to use an egg substitute for allergies in our family so I could not downgrade for that. I loved how small they were and very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I think the recipe is great. That said, I did make a few changes that other reviewers suggested... such as additional spice. I added 1/4 t white pepper, some allspice, ginger and cloves and upped the cardamom to 1 1/2 t. They were 'too' spicy for my 6 year old... so maybe next time I'll tone that back a bit. Normally he loves cinnamon and other Christmas spices, but it was a bit much. (not for me, just for him) I think a tab more flour is needed as my cookies flattened out very quickly and got crusty edges on some. I did roll some of them in sugar, just to see the results and did like the little outer crunch it gave as well as making them look pretty. So, when I do these for Christmas, I think I'll do them with the sugar. I imagine some colored sugar on there would work well too and be very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley c.
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Delicious & addictive little spiced shortbread cookies! I followed other's advice & doubled the cardamom & cinnamon. I also added about 1/2 tsp vanilla, & 1/4 tsp each of ginger, nutmeg, ground cloves & white pepper (I've made them w/o the white pepper & I enjoy them both ways). It may sound strange, but the flavor reminded me of pumpkin pie. After the dough is made, just grab a small handful of it, roll it out on a floured surface then use a pizza cutter to cut into the size you like. Just know that depending on the thickness & size, they'll cook differently (bigger the size = longer the baking time). My husband loves these w/ his coffee so it's nice making them a little longer, like biscotti, for dunking. Rings would work well too, or even a figure '8' shape, like Kringla. The cookies are done when the very bottom edge of the cookie starts to turn a light brown.**A few notes about the cardamom: One way to tell if you'll enjoy it's flavor is if you enjoy Chai tea. Chai spice almost always has cardamom seeds in it (along with cinnamon, ginger, cloves, pepper & nutmeg). I usually had trouble finding ground cardamom in stores where I lived in the US. But we live in India now & cardamom is used in many local dishes, so if you have trouble finding ground cardamom, try your local Indian grocer & look for "Elaichi Powder".** Lastly, make sure to double the recipe if you've got a full house - these cookies won't last a full 24 hours once people get their hands on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were delicious with their unique flavor, perfect for filling in the little spaces on the cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I love these cookies! My husband was talking fondly of this cardamom bread his uncle makes, so when I saw this recipe, I thought it was worth a try. I had never had cardamom before, and thought it smelled really strong out of the bottle, but these cookies are so delicious. I like making them small like the recipe says and popping them in my mouth one after another. These will definitely stay one of my favorite cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
they weren't bad, very crispy. ok with a cup of tea or coffee. deffinately wont make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Love these! But i ended up using two tablespoons of cinnamon and one tablespoon of nutmeg instead of the cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
With the addition of a dash of ginger and cloves, double the cinnamon and cardamom, and 1/4tsp white pepper, this is a phenemonal recipe. Light, spicy and delicious. Make lots; you can eat these by the handful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I LOVE these cookies, however, the first time i made them i did not have any cardamon and the store was out, I did add 1/2 tsp of Mace, and a 1/2 tsp of white pepper, needlessly to say they were absolutely wonderful. The next time i made them i put the cardamon in them... and for me, i prefer them without it. though my oldest daughter adores them with the cardamon. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Amazing! Not a super sweet cookie, which made it so much easier to too many! The cardamom is a really great flavor, I had never cooked with it before, but will make an effort to in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States