Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These cookies are great! I could eat them all year round. I rolled the dough out and cut them with tiny cookie cutters and they looked so great. If you choose to roll them out I'd suggest using icing sugar cover the surface, not flour (mine ended up tasting a bit too floury). Also these cookies didn't expand on the pan at all so I was able to put a lot more on the pan to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is one of the cookies my Scandinavian grandfather used to make every Christmas that made memories in my family. Grandpa passed away 4 years ago, and was too frail to make them for at least a few years before that. So, it's been a long time since I have eaten one. I knew the ingredients, but didn't know the ratios. Thank you so much for posting this. I did double the cardamom and cinnamon, and added a dash of ginger and cloves. I am giving this recipe a 4 because it's missing two vital ingredients to traditional Danish Pebber Nodder, which I just played with until I felt the taste was just right. It was roughly 1/2 tsp of mace, and 1/4 tsp of white pepper. I made these for my annual cookie exchange. They were so good to snack on and they made perfect neighbor gifts put into small mason jars with pretty ribbon and a homemade tag. Thank you for giving me back an old family tradition, and giving me a fond way of remembering my grandfather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed these little cookies. They went perfect with coffee. First time i tasted cardamom and i really love this spice now ;)Im looking for more recipes with cardamom in it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These cookies are FABULOUS!!!!!! My family loved them! My boyfriend was the only one who would have given them less than a five, but he is sorta picky. They are super simple. As is they are delicious, no changes needed, but I would add maybe a half a tsp more of the cinnamon and cardamon to give it some extra kick. Will definitly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by celestialcharms
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Fabulous little delights. Even people who never heard of cardamon, loved the taste of these morsels. They definitely have a great shelf life as well. I had one tray of baked pebber nodder sitting out uncovered for 2 days, and they tasted as fresh as if they just came out of the oven. Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialcharms

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These are really simple. My son doesn't like cardamom so I just added 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon, cloves & black pepper. I just rolled into little balls and baked- they don't come out that pretty so I dipped each tiny cookie into dark chocolate to pretty them up. They are great with tea and to give away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was easy up to the point of rolling the dough into ropes - then it got frustrating. I finally figured out that the dough was slipping and not rolling because there was too much flour on the counter surface. I ended up using hardly any flour to roll the dough into ropes, then I placed each rope on a lightly floured surface to cut it into "nuggets". They cooked perfectly and their shape makes them irresistable! The only other problem - and it's a major one - is the flavor. The cardamom was not tasty at all to me. I actually threw the cookies away. :( Then I made the dough a second time, omitting the cardamom and using 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract instead with the cinnamon. I do not like the dough and I probably won't even cook it. Oh well. I do not recommend this recipe and will never make it again. It gets a 2-star rating because the dough is easy to mix up, and I think it would be possible to find a flavor that works well. Maybe just a hint of vanilla and that's it. I don't know... Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dardago, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
this cookie was OK. nothing fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Om, im not sure what i did wrong because i can definately not roll these into balls...they were too sticky and runny for that. Regardless, i just used a spoon and dropped them on the cookie sheet and they came out sort of like little pancakes...delicious but not how they were supposed to turn out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
easy, easy , easy, I did find that I had to add extra flour but they still tasted great. I also dusted them with a mixture of icing sugar and cinnamon. mmmmmm very addictive once you start eating them, very hard to stop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States