Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I make these every winter for the office, everyone loves them! Cant go wrong with danish baking ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Sorensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Definitely add the 1/4tsp. ground ginger and 1/4tsp. white pepper! And you do not need to double the cardamom if you are using freshly ground--and freshly ground is the way to go. It's easy to break the pods open and use a pestle and mortar on them. My 5 year old did it and it just ramps up the flavor so much! I also found they cooked better with a better interior texture when I did the ropes and cut them like the recipe said. I did try them rolled into little balls individually too but they came out chewy in the middle and compared to the little squares, they had less spice flavor probably because the temp required to get it crisped throughout also toasts the spices and brings out their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very tasty! I love the uniqueness of spices used. Also not overly sweet like a lot of holiday cookies seem to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggourde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ichikawa, Chiba, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I replaced the cardomom for nutmeg because this was a spontaneous bake. They turned out aromatic rather than spicy, they were quite pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My favorite cookie with the following changes... 2 t cardamom, 2 t cinnamon, 1/2 t mace and 1/4 t white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I doubled the spices as a few other reviewers mentioned (2 teaspoons each cardamom and cinnamon) and dipped them in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar (four parts granulated sugar to one part cinnamon) to make them a little sweeter. They still are not as sweet as normal American cookies, but I like them. The first time I tried making them, I found them to be too gloopy to roll into ropes and made them as drop cookies. The second time, I got the bright idea to wrap the dough in plastic wrap and place it in the fridge for a few hours. It firms up nicely and then you can roll into ropes and cut it as the instructions state. I like the appearance of the cookies when made this way--like little pillows. :) I forgot to count them before eating a bunch (LOL) but I think it made about 90. I baked for 4 minutes, rotated the pan, and then for another 4. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Since my Paternal Grandmother was half Norwegian and half Danish I had to make these. I doubled the Cardamon and added 1/2 tsp white pepper and 1/4 tsp ground ginger as other reviewers suggested to make them more authentic. Very good, you don't really taste the pepper until after you've eaten your last bite of cookie so it's not an overpowering peppery taste. Good to know if you are not a pepper fanatic like my son is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Fantastic! Misplaced the Cardamom, so substituted with Ginger. Just as nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These are delicious and simple. I had a1 time getting mine to raise like the picture showed so they looked very square. However, this could have been because I had to use an egg substitute for allergies in our family so I could not downgrade for that. I loved how small they were and very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I think the recipe is great. That said, I did make a few changes that other reviewers suggested... such as additional spice. I added 1/4 t white pepper, some allspice, ginger and cloves and upped the cardamom to 1 1/2 t. They were 'too' spicy for my 6 year old... so maybe next time I'll tone that back a bit. Normally he loves cinnamon and other Christmas spices, but it was a bit much. (not for me, just for him) I think a tab more flour is needed as my cookies flattened out very quickly and got crusty edges on some. I did roll some of them in sugar, just to see the results and did like the little outer crunch it gave as well as making them look pretty. So, when I do these for Christmas, I think I'll do them with the sugar. I imagine some colored sugar on there would work well too and be very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States