Peasant Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Great crusty old fashioned bread. I had a problem with it rising a little too high though. It was a challenge to get it out of the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2000
I thought that the bread machine was my greatest time saver till I tried this recipe!! I used both the french and light crust settings and had great results with both, although the kids had a hard time with the chewy french crust. All in all, this is my new bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This is my favorite bread recipe. A nice crust(chewy)and not alot of ingredients. Very easy and very tasty. I share this one with my friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Seriously YUMMY - I've been looking for a good vegan [no animal] white bread for ages and this one is perfect. Easy to make, cheap and lovely tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Fantastic bread. Very crusty and crunchy (although very pale and odd looking when used French cycle). Most tast and crunchy recipe made. Makes wonderful extremely crunchy toast !! A bit much for children, but great for those wantoing tasty very crunchy bread. DOesn't keep well - but doesn't need to !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
I was unsure of a bread with no fat, but since I am watching my weight and love (and we are talking addicted) bread I gave it a shot. I am so happy that I did. This bread does not lack in flavor and texture. It is one of the best basic white breads I have made. I am so glad to have found this and so is my diabetic father!! Many thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This is THE best tasting bread machine recipe that I have ever used. Taste is like true old fashion homemade bread. If you want store bread taste this is not your recipe, but it is certainly one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This was good! I do like the crustiness of it a lot. It's really good sliced thick and toasted with butter slathered on it while warm. We're having it tonight with ChaCha's White Chicken Chili, from this website. Thanks so much, Becki! I LOVE this website! :-)(May 19, 2003)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I'm smiling ear-to-ear over how wonderful this bread turned out! I didn't change a thing to the recipe and baked it on medium crust on the french bread cycle. It turned out a nice golden brown color and was very crispy on the outside and soft and tender on the inside. I love how the end pieces are really crunchy. This is my very first time ever baking in my bread machine too!!! My husband was so impressed. A great way to eat it is to slice it and dip it in some balsamic vinegar with olive oil and fresh cracked pepper. It's also one of those breads that is so good you can eat it plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was an easy recipe but most of all I was surprised at how good it taste with such few ingrediates. I've made this several times in my bread machine and it always turns out well. I did find out if you use BREAD MACHINE bread flour instead of just bread four it will rise a little to much. Next time I scaled the recipe down from 12 to 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States