Peasant Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very bland. Very heavy dough, needs a longer cook time. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca L. Rinehart Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Herington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I let this bread mix and rise in the machine, then take it out to shape. One more rise before I bake it in the oven with a shallow pan of water on the bottom rack for an extra crispy crust. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is a good but very basic recipe. I might try some seasoned butter on the remainder. It was my first successful attempt using my bread machine. I used regular all-purpose flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
great recipie. it tastes like english muffin bread. the loaf isn't that big, but it packs a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This bread is the best low fat one I've tried since reaching my goal on Nutrisystem. After losing 50 lbs. I was looking forward to introducing regular foods, but worried that low fat bread would be tasteless. Not so with this recipe. I used the medium crust setting and French bread on my machine. The crust is crispy, and the bread is good for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Sorry, but this is the worst bread recipe I have ever tried - flat and too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The posted recipe is nearly the exact recipe for French Bread that was included with my bread machine. I agree...it's the BEST french bread! I read that some people's loaves were falling...it may be that the proportions are off a bit. My recipe says (instead of 1 1/2 cups of water) there should only be 1 cup + 2TBL for 3 1/2 cups of flour. 1 1/2 TBL of vegetable oil is an optional add. I always make the 2 LB loaf, bake it on the French Bread cycle and it comes out perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
A great basic recipe. Nice and chewy without being overly dense - perfect for sandwhiches. I also love the low sugar and no fat content - I feel like I'm eating what bread is supposed to be, lol. Thanks so much, this will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Yum! I made it on the French bread setting, and (like others have said) it came out looking a little bit weird. It looked like it had collapsed. The taste, however, was just wonderful. Perfect right out of the bread machine with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States