Pears Panos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
It was so good I'm making it again in the morning (dicing the pears over waffles) Amazing. We had to sub with orange juice. Sprinkle with cinnamon...it's all that's missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent and easy to prepare. I prefer to peel Bosc pears, and I frequently substitute Triple Sec for Cointreau. Top with a dollop of whipped cream or whipped topping and it's a super dessert for guest dinners. A drop of red food coloring added to the syrup (after removing the pears) adds color contrast, but is not necessary. My wife suggests a few drops of chocolate liquor mixed in with the orange liquor while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made it today in a frying pan, I split 3 pears instead of trying to core them whole. It took a while before the syrup cook ed down but that is fine as I wanted to finish them as the entree is ending. Adding a splash of Cointreau tightened every thing up. Next time I will make some pear sorbet or gelato & garnish with mint leaves. Bare bones it is pears in syrup (just like the can) but this is better because the pears are fresh, you control the amount of sugar in the syrup & you can add zip if you want it. Definitely a winner from the POV of both cook & diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
god bless you, steve. i made my first pear liqueur but it didn't taste sweet or peary enough. your recipe is just what i was looking for. thx a million. mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was incredible! I was amazed at how wonderful the pear syrup tasted after one hour of cooking. I added the vanilla as instructed, but I didn't have Cointreau, only Triple Sec, which seems a bit harsher, so I only added 1 tablespoon. Next time (and there will be a next time) I don't think I'll add the liqueur at all. My husband and I enjoyed these pears very much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These were the perfect ending to our meal tonight! The recipe was just right. To top them, I whipped some cream. We don't have any liquer in our house at all, so I did what another reviewer did-left it out. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
OH MY GOSH!!!! I had 2 fresh pears I needed to use and found this recipe. Just what I was looking for. In fact, I made it again 2 days later with slices of fresh pears , honeycrisp apples and a small amt. of ground nutmeg added. Great with or without the orange flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Everyone in my family loved it. I made a blamange to go with it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I pretty much followed this recipe to the T and it turned our great! Wonderful smell wafting through the house. I quartered my pears as I think it is easier to core them that way. I did add a cinnamon stick at the very beginning and I thought it added nicely. I would suppose one could add a few whole cloves for a different flavor too. Would be great served over vanilla ice cream! Definitely a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I don't like pears and was looking for a recipe to use up some we had on hand. Both my husband and I liked this recipe. I substituted 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar for the Cointreau, and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

How to Make Peach Melba

See how to make an amazing peach melba with fresh raspberry sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States