Pears Panos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
OH MY GOSH!!!! I had 2 fresh pears I needed to use and found this recipe. Just what I was looking for. In fact, I made it again 2 days later with slices of fresh pears , honeycrisp apples and a small amt. of ground nutmeg added. Great with or without the orange flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very tasty, everyone enjoyed it. I did not change anything - followed the recipe exactly. Next time, I think that I'll slice the pears instead of simmering halves. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I don't like pears and was looking for a recipe to use up some we had on hand. Both my husband and I liked this recipe. I substituted 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar for the Cointreau, and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was incredible! I was amazed at how wonderful the pear syrup tasted after one hour of cooking. I added the vanilla as instructed, but I didn't have Cointreau, only Triple Sec, which seems a bit harsher, so I only added 1 tablespoon. Next time (and there will be a next time) I don't think I'll add the liqueur at all. My husband and I enjoyed these pears very much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
It was so good I'm making it again in the morning (dicing the pears over waffles) Amazing. We had to sub with orange juice. Sprinkle with cinnamon...it's all that's missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These were the perfect ending to our meal tonight! The recipe was just right. To top them, I whipped some cream. We don't have any liquer in our house at all, so I did what another reviewer did-left it out. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was delicious. I did not have orange liqueur but peach. I added it and it gave the pears a fresh, but not peachy taste. My only complaint is that my dish looked more like cooked potatoes than pears. Next time I would add some red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J La

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Export, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as written. My husband and I enjoyed it very much but we both thought it was much too sweet. I might have allowed it to reduce too much, because even after an hour the "syrup" seemed too watery, so I allowed it to continue simmering for about another half hour. Even so, next time I make this recipe I will reduce the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup or maybe even less. Also, I did sprinkle some cinnamon on one of the pears and thought the flavor was nice, but it overpowered the orange from the Cointreau too much for my taste. I also think fresh whipped cream would go great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I pretty much followed this recipe to the T and it turned our great! Wonderful smell wafting through the house. I quartered my pears as I think it is easier to core them that way. I did add a cinnamon stick at the very beginning and I thought it added nicely. I would suppose one could add a few whole cloves for a different flavor too. Would be great served over vanilla ice cream! Definitely a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Everyone in my family loved it. I made a blamange to go with it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States