Pears Panos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious! An absolute 180 from your typical dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was so anxious to try this recipe on my wife's relatives that I forgot to read the entire recipe. I didn't halve or core the pears. I removed the pears and placed them in a bowl while I finished the sauce. When it was time for dessert I place each pear in the center of the place, ringed the plate with a little sauce, and added a small scoop of vanilla ice cream. The comments were unexpected! "Oh wow, pears." And the compliments wouldn't stop either. We're still getting Facebook comments as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Was unsure, so I left the skin on and that seemed to work nicely. The syrup was very watery even after 90 minutes over medium heat. Tasted fine, but reminiscent of canned pears. Not sure I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made it today in a frying pan, I split 3 pears instead of trying to core them whole. It took a while before the syrup cook ed down but that is fine as I wanted to finish them as the entree is ending. Adding a splash of Cointreau tightened every thing up. Next time I will make some pear sorbet or gelato & garnish with mint leaves. Bare bones it is pears in syrup (just like the can) but this is better because the pears are fresh, you control the amount of sugar in the syrup & you can add zip if you want it. Definitely a winner from the POV of both cook & diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I opted to leave my pears whole for presentation's sake and adding only a marginal amount of orange liqueur. I replaced the rest of liqueur with lemon juice upon serving. This is very sweet, (so be warned.) The lemon juice helped cut the sweetness. Was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent and easy to prepare. I prefer to peel Bosc pears, and I frequently substitute Triple Sec for Cointreau. Top with a dollop of whipped cream or whipped topping and it's a super dessert for guest dinners. A drop of red food coloring added to the syrup (after removing the pears) adds color contrast, but is not necessary. My wife suggests a few drops of chocolate liquor mixed in with the orange liquor while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as written. My husband and I enjoyed it very much but we both thought it was much too sweet. I might have allowed it to reduce too much, because even after an hour the "syrup" seemed too watery, so I allowed it to continue simmering for about another half hour. Even so, next time I make this recipe I will reduce the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup or maybe even less. Also, I did sprinkle some cinnamon on one of the pears and thought the flavor was nice, but it overpowered the orange from the Cointreau too much for my taste. I also think fresh whipped cream would go great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I don't like pears and was looking for a recipe to use up some we had on hand. Both my husband and I liked this recipe. I substituted 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar for the Cointreau, and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I pretty much followed this recipe to the T and it turned our great! Wonderful smell wafting through the house. I quartered my pears as I think it is easier to core them that way. I did add a cinnamon stick at the very beginning and I thought it added nicely. I would suppose one could add a few whole cloves for a different flavor too. Would be great served over vanilla ice cream! Definitely a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Everyone in my family loved it. I made a blamange to go with it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States