Pears in Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Awesome recipe even when using only 1/2 the sugar recommended in the recipe. A favorite from everyone in the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I thought the semi-sweet chocolat sauce worked very well with the sweeter pears. Will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Great idea! My pears discolored a bit in the pot despite following the lemon juice instruction. I cored them from the bottom to keep the stems intact and only cooked mine for about 5 minutes before removing them from the heat - and they were perfectly tender without being mushy. I skipped the coffee liquor and maraschino, added a little vanilla to the chocolate and garnished with lemon zest and sugared almonds. Very pretty and delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were very good but I did use semi-sweet chocolate instead of the bitter since I didn't want my guests over powered with dark choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was very good, but I ended up making a different chocolate sauce. I do not care for bittersweet chocolate, so I made it again with semi-sweet, a sliver of butter and a little milk. Much better. I cored the pears before cooking, and they were sweet and tender. I also garnished with fresh strawberries. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I really didn't care for this recipe, but then I'm not a huge fan of pears. I found it a little too difficult to make for a so-so result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I don't understand why you don't core the pears. This is a tasty recipe but could be easier to eat. Next time I will core them (and keep an eye on them in case they don't need 15 min. of cook time). Good chocolate sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
YUM! I'm not one for pears usually, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States