Pearl Baked Cream Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I and my daughters are onions lovers. I can tell you we didn't like this at all. The overall flavor was bland from the cream to the crust topping. If you like onions with milk, then this is for you. I'm sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
OK - nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My family loved this...and it was very simple. I would recommend half the amount of crackers, as it becomes really thick (i used about 10 or so crackers and it still was somewhat thick). I gave this 4 stars because it is really greasy in my opinion...which was to be expected given the use of heavy cream (which I had on hand) and butter. When I make this again (which I will), I think I'll use half and half or light cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
everyone loved these at thanksgiving! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
So bad but sooooooo good!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very tasty and easy to make. Best when eaten fresh while the cracker top is still nice and crunchy. Can't help but prefer the Creamed Pearl Onions recipe though, because the sauce is so, well... creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Pretty Good, nice flavor.. was hoping for something a tad bit creamier but nice dish overall. My 1 year old liked it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Served this dish with veal marsala & basmati rice for dinner last night. The aroma was wonderful but the dish was a little too bland. Used fresh pearl onions; blanched then rinsed in cold water for easy peeling. If I make it again, I'll try the small, yellow onions for stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a little tedious to make because of the peeling of the onions, but that doesn't take any points off for me. With such few ingredients, most of which you probably already have on hand, it is a very flavorful dish. I served with chicken cordon bleu, but it would go good with pork or beef as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jShizz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I followed the directions exactly but we just didn't like this... is was extremely dry and had very little flavor in spite of the large amount of onions. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States