Pearl Baked Cream Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Sunapee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
very good Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Absolutely WONDERFUL!! I have never made nor had anything like this and I couldn't get enough! I brought this to a pot-luck and when I went back for 2nd's I got a little of some of the other things so I wouldn't look like a wierdo getting more of what *I* brought! Very easy and although I tend to change recipies I followed this exactly but did add the crushed garlic croutons on the top like one of the other members suggested. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is a delicious recipe. I followed Rookie's advice on the onion and the 2nd time I made it, I used 1 cup less of ritz crackers. This has become a requested dish for Thanksgiving in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I highly recommend this recipe. We loved it. It isn't what you think, it has a little bit of a sweet taste. We used frozen pearl onions and it was perfect. I didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Phenomenal! So simple and absolutely fantastic! Made it to accompany steak and my husband couldn't stop talking about how great it was. I added a little garlic and used white cheddar cheez its for the topping. Thanks! Update: Made it again and used Ritz crackers... not as good as with the white cheddar cheeze its (to us)... still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Made with prime rib - WONDERFUL! Will make again (not often though as it's fattening) - a great treat for meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
having had something extremely similar to this several times, I was excited to try out this recipe. I did alter it slightly by making a roux to thicken the sauce, and followed other reviewer's suggestion of simmering the cream with a crushed garlic clove and some bay leaves. The only thing that seemed off when the recipe was on the table were the onions themselves: they were like little oniony water balloons. Kinda yucky, and several of my family members commented on this. They were, however, sopping up the sauce with dinner rolls as it was excellent. I don't know if it would have helped to thaw the frozen onions first, or pierce them with a fork before baking, maybe? Next time, I might use thich slices of vidalia or something instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This was really, really good. I used frozen pearl onions and added a few extras. I simmered the cream with 2 bay leaves, one clove of garlic (peeled and smashed), chopped fresh Italian parsley and a dash of nutmeg for about 10 minutes. Discarded the bay leaves and the garlic and proceeded with the recipe. All these years I have been using the typical cream of celery condensed soup recipe and it pales in comparison. I'll never go back now that I have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was delicious. My husband had eaten all of the "buttery round crackers" secretly, so I substituted saltines and left the salt out of the recipe. After baking, I sprinkled some crumbled garlic croutons over the top. I'll serve this wonderful, rich side dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States