Pear Walnut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good, even my picky two year old liked it. I used cashews instead of walnuts and it was a little extra sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I thought it was very good. Used fresh pears, unsweetened applesauce in place of apple juice, and served over brown rice. Nice combo of savory and sweet. Only 4 stars because it was good but not out of the ballpark excellent. The subs I made shouldn't have affected the outcome too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was a really good idea for pears & chicken.I used fresh pears ( about 12oz sliced)& 1 sm apple chopped.I mariated the chicken with a marinate I use often for stirfry and I think it always make the meat taste better.Use 1TB of the cornstarch,1TB of the soy sauce,2 cloves garlic minced or pressed,1/2 tp fresh grated ginger root (I think the ginger is the missing ingred someone was trying to think of).Let this marinate in the frig. at least 15 min.,even several hrs. is good. When using the garlic & the cornstarch in the marinate remember to subtract that amount from your recipe.I simmered the fresh pear & apple + 1lg.thin sliced carrot ( another great addition from someone,it's good for color + flavor) in one skillet until just tender then added the liq.,I used double also 1&1/2 c water +1&1/2 c ck. broth.Let that simmer while you brown your chicken in another skillet,add 1/2c minced onion to ck. Add the remaining 5 TB corn starch to 1/2 c water and add to sauce ( you should have already added the 5TB soy sauce while simmering).I used cashews and added them to the browning chicken for a min then dumped the chicken into the skillet with the sauce.I used the fresh parley,I added it at the end and just stirred it in. I served this over jasmine white rice.It was so good my husband and I made yummy noises all thru the meal.I served egg rolls with hot mustard on the side. The hot mustard and the sweet sauce pear sauce were a good combo.I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe is a definate keeper! My husband had to fight the children for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I did not follow the recipe exactly (used fresh pear and apple, rather than canned pears), so my review might not be entirely fair. However, this seemed like a good base recipe that you could add to and adjust according to your particular taste. Glad we tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I enjoyed this, though as written it turned out pretty bland. I ended up just about doubling the soy sauce and using diced garlic, and that almost did the trick. It brought out the flavor of the pears more. It was still missing something in the end, though. I'd definately try it again w/a bit of tweeking. It's healthy enough and a good place to start :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was good overall. I also used sweetened apple juice (all I had) so it was necessary to reduce the sugar. After I tried it I thought it was still too sweet so I added more soy sauce. The only thing I didn't have was parsley which I don't care for anyway but I ended up adding some oregano which complemented well and added flavor. Also added a little cayenne to offsetthe sweet. With these adjustments it was just as fast and really tasty. I would cut the sugar completely out the next time even though I like sweet, pear and apple juice was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Sounded too bland, so I made the folowing changes: add one small white onion and about 1 Tbsp minced garlic(instead of garlic powder), add about 3/4 c sliced carrots, increase soy sauce a little, add fresh ground pepper. I also used fresh pears becuase I did not have canned and less chicken because we like less meat. I also subsituted pineapple juice for the apple juice and chicken broth for the water. I am not fond of walnuts, so I sprinkled cashews over the top. Served it all over rice. Pretty goo. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States