Pear Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Wow - now this is a vinaigrette! And just as the submitter states - it's a light and lovely salad dressing that lends itself to a simple and elegant salad. This was so easy to put together and was perfect accompnaiment to a Thanksgiving meal. And I must say I'll definitely be making this for other special occasions. It's a great combination of flavors and everyone enjoyed it. I did opt to used canned pears along with a little bit of the juice vs. a fresh pear. I also used a very nice Chardonnay for the white wine and after it was done blending I did add just a touch of honey for sweetness. This definitely gets better over time and thickens up so be sure to make it the night before. This was fabulous over a mix of butter lettuce, dried cranberries, chopped apples and pears, toasted walnuts, and topped with goat cheese crumbles. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is without a doubt one of the best salad dressings I've ever had. I loved how the combo of the sweet and the tart blended so well with a Northwest inspired salad. Rather than use fresh pears in the dressing, I did use 3 home-canned pear halves. The rest of the dressing was made exactly as written and will be made many times more. Incredibly delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a very delicious dressing, especially when made with home canned pears. My pear wasn't quite as sweet as I would have liked, so I was glad to have had Avon's first so I knew the difference! As with all salad dressings, this gets better as it sits so the flavors meld together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this as written using light olive oil rather than extra virgin. When I first tasted it, I thought the white wine (I used a nice chardonnay) was overpowering, but it seemed to mellow out as it sat, so I would suggest making this in advance. I don’t think my pear was very sweet, so I did end up putting about 1 teaspoon of brown sugar in it which made it just right. I served this on a salad of mixed greens chopped pear, toasted pine nuts and feta cheese. Very good! I’d like to try it with apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm not a salad person but let me tell you I cleaned my salad plate & about licked it to boot! This was a fantastic! salad dressing! LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Really delicious , Love, that the sweetness is coming from the ripe pear. I had to sub cider vin for the white balsamic, didnt seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Perfect as is. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Meh....I was hoping this would be a really different tasting dressing. The ingredients really looked good to me, that's why I made it. It just tasted like vinegar with mustard in it to me. I wouldn't guess pear at all. I think next time I will increase the pear and only put it 1 tps of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome! I would not use canned pears for my taste, like some others did. I prefer the less sweet dressing I had from my over-ripe pears. I did not have white balsamic vinegar, so used white wine vinegar instead, so as to keep the color light. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very tasty dressing! Great for winter salads. I didn't have white vinegar, so I used the dark balsalmic. I used about 1/4 cup oil. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vinaigrette

Dress up your greens with simple homemade vinaigrette.

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States