Pear Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Wow - now this is a vinaigrette! And just as the submitter states - it's a light and lovely salad dressing that lends itself to a simple and elegant salad. This was so easy to put together and was perfect accompnaiment to a Thanksgiving meal. And I must say I'll definitely be making this for other special occasions. It's a great combination of flavors and everyone enjoyed it. I did opt to used canned pears along with a little bit of the juice vs. a fresh pear. I also used a very nice Chardonnay for the white wine and after it was done blending I did add just a touch of honey for sweetness. This definitely gets better over time and thickens up so be sure to make it the night before. This was fabulous over a mix of butter lettuce, dried cranberries, chopped apples and pears, toasted walnuts, and topped with goat cheese crumbles. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is without a doubt one of the best salad dressings I've ever had. I loved how the combo of the sweet and the tart blended so well with a Northwest inspired salad. Rather than use fresh pears in the dressing, I did use 3 home-canned pear halves. The rest of the dressing was made exactly as written and will be made many times more. Incredibly delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a very delicious dressing, especially when made with home canned pears. My pear wasn't quite as sweet as I would have liked, so I was glad to have had Avon's first so I knew the difference! As with all salad dressings, this gets better as it sits so the flavors meld together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this as written using light olive oil rather than extra virgin. When I first tasted it, I thought the white wine (I used a nice chardonnay) was overpowering, but it seemed to mellow out as it sat, so I would suggest making this in advance. I don’t think my pear was very sweet, so I did end up putting about 1 teaspoon of brown sugar in it which made it just right. I served this on a salad of mixed greens chopped pear, toasted pine nuts and feta cheese. Very good! I’d like to try it with apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm not a salad person but let me tell you I cleaned my salad plate & about licked it to boot! This was a fantastic! salad dressing! LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Braun Faso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Really delicious , Love, that the sweetness is coming from the ripe pear. I had to sub cider vin for the white balsamic, didnt seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Perfect as is. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Meh....I was hoping this would be a really different tasting dressing. The ingredients really looked good to me, that's why I made it. It just tasted like vinegar with mustard in it to me. I wouldn't guess pear at all. I think next time I will increase the pear and only put it 1 tps of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome! I would not use canned pears for my taste, like some others did. I prefer the less sweet dressing I had from my over-ripe pears. I did not have white balsamic vinegar, so used white wine vinegar instead, so as to keep the color light. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very tasty dressing! Great for winter salads. I didn't have white vinegar, so I used the dark balsalmic. I used about 1/4 cup oil. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vinaigrette

Dress up your greens with simple homemade vinaigrette.

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States