Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These were great, I'll make them again! Just the right amount of cinnamon. And the chopped pears gave them substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilacorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
so yummy. slightly sweet. my husband and kids all love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
We just finish baking the scones and they are wonderful...light, not really, really sweet but still have a hint of sweetmess...we even sifted the brown sugar with the other dry ingredients.. never did that before, but make sure u do..the texture is wonderful. We are going to serve it with pear butter for breakfast on Christmas Eve morning... thanks for sharing the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
We made these scones while in Paris this spring. The pears were wonderful and we found these simple scones were a great traveling snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The batter for these are more like a dumpling, a bit wetter than a real scone batter. I didn't have half and half so I substituted buttermilk for the liquid. We enjoyed these for our afternoon "coffee break'. I have added this to my keeper list as they are quick and easy but a nice change from regular scones.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rainy River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I made this because I have a pear tree and needed to use up some pears. One change: I substituted milk for the half-and-half, and only added a little at a time until the batter was just barely moist (it was probably closer to 1/3 cup than 1/2 cup). This change made the batter just right, not too wet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane S
Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Slightly more muffin-like in texture than true scones, but moist, delicious, and very pear-tasting. Here were my changes: 1/2 cup plain yogurt instead of half and half 2 C. chopped pear I added half the pear with the yogurt so it would mash down and add liquid. The other half was very large chunks I stirred in at the end. I baked them for 20 minutes in one large, flat circle scored into wedges on a greased cookie sheet instead of making individual scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
these were excellent, i did the flour and butter part in the food processor and it made very quick work of them, i also subbed ginger for the cinnamon. I ate 2 already and they are just out of the oven. A great way to use garden pears, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Used 1 home-grown bartlet pear and plain yogurt instead of cream-dough was just like scone dough should be. Served them with my pear and ginger marmalade and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This are excellent. Nice, soft, thick dough. I added 1/2 tsp ginger to the batter and 1 pear=1 cup so for those who said batter was too thin and they spread like puddles, pay attention to the recipe. 4 pears??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States