Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Slightly more muffin-like in texture than true scones, but moist, delicious, and very pear-tasting. Here were my changes: 1/2 cup plain yogurt instead of half and half 2 C. chopped pear I added half the pear with the yogurt so it would mash down and add liquid. The other half was very large chunks I stirred in at the end. I baked them for 20 minutes in one large, flat circle scored into wedges on a greased cookie sheet instead of making individual scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These were very good, but I definitely would not call them scones. At breakfast this morning we dubbed them "Pear Puddles" :) because the do spread out a good bit and that's what they look like. I used 4 pears (didn't bother to measure, just needed to get rid of them) and because of the reviews I added a little more flavoring. I used cinnamon, ginger, cardamom, and some finely grated orange peel just because I had it. They were very tasty! We ate them with a little butter, and they were sweet enough (but not too sweet) that they didn't need anything else. Will make again :) Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Triss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The batter for these are more like a dumpling, a bit wetter than a real scone batter. I didn't have half and half so I substituted buttermilk for the liquid. We enjoyed these for our afternoon "coffee break'. I have added this to my keeper list as they are quick and easy but a nice change from regular scones.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rainy River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I agree with some other reviewers that these aren't traditional scones, but they're quick and delicious. The only change I made was to use whole milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
great recipe...but i wanted to try a different spice combo so i substituted 1/4 tsp cardamom and 1/4 tsp of ginger and just put in a pinch of cinnamon...and they had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
We made these scones while in Paris this spring. The pears were wonderful and we found these simple scones were a great traveling snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I'm going to have to disagree on this one. The dough was far too wet and the scones spread too much. The pear flavor was barely noticeable. They tasted OK to me, but not much like a scone at all. I'll stick with my traditional recipe and experiment with adding pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUGSMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
so yummy. slightly sweet. my husband and kids all love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
These scones were very good. Just enough sweetness and the pears are flavorful. I peeled and chopped 3 pears to yield the 1 cup called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
They don't really look like proper scones, by proper I suppopse I mean store bought, but they sure taste good & the look of them just adds to their homemade charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Topazia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States