Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Used 1 home-grown bartlet pear and plain yogurt instead of cream-dough was just like scone dough should be. Served them with my pear and ginger marmalade and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
these were excellent, i did the flour and butter part in the food processor and it made very quick work of them, i also subbed ginger for the cinnamon. I ate 2 already and they are just out of the oven. A great way to use garden pears, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These turned out great! Even the kids had seconds. I substituted sour cream for the half and half and found the consistency before and after baking to be perfect. Yum! I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I used whole wheat flour instead of ap flour, 3 T honey instead of brown sugar, oil instead of butter, and soy milk in place of half and half. Maybe I should not review this with all my changes, but this definitely was worth the try with fresh pears! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was ok, but rather more like a muffin than a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I made this because I have a pear tree and needed to use up some pears. One change: I substituted milk for the half-and-half, and only added a little at a time until the batter was just barely moist (it was probably closer to 1/3 cup than 1/2 cup). This change made the batter just right, not too wet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane S
Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Slightly more muffin-like in texture than true scones, but moist, delicious, and very pear-tasting. Here were my changes: 1/2 cup plain yogurt instead of half and half 2 C. chopped pear I added half the pear with the yogurt so it would mash down and add liquid. The other half was very large chunks I stirred in at the end. I baked them for 20 minutes in one large, flat circle scored into wedges on a greased cookie sheet instead of making individual scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These were very good, but I definitely would not call them scones. At breakfast this morning we dubbed them "Pear Puddles" :) because the do spread out a good bit and that's what they look like. I used 4 pears (didn't bother to measure, just needed to get rid of them) and because of the reviews I added a little more flavoring. I used cinnamon, ginger, cardamom, and some finely grated orange peel just because I had it. They were very tasty! We ate them with a little butter, and they were sweet enough (but not too sweet) that they didn't need anything else. Will make again :) Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Triss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The batter for these are more like a dumpling, a bit wetter than a real scone batter. I didn't have half and half so I substituted buttermilk for the liquid. We enjoyed these for our afternoon "coffee break'. I have added this to my keeper list as they are quick and easy but a nice change from regular scones.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rainy River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I agree with some other reviewers that these aren't traditional scones, but they're quick and delicious. The only change I made was to use whole milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States