Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
More cakey than sconey, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made these to use the pears in my fruit bowl, they did spread out like other reviewers said, which I was afraid would happen as the batter was thinner than a typical scone batter. As the first ones spread, I decided to cook the rest of the batter in muffin cups and turned out much better. My 2 and 4 year old were eating the batter out of the bowl as they taste great, just not scones. Perhaps adding extra flour and some baking soda would result in a better scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
great recipe for a light and healthy scone. The only change I made was substitute all-purpose flour with whole sprouted wheat flour. It was divine! Thank you so much for sharing this simple and delicious scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I used a half and half mixture of whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour instead of AP. Gave it a nice, hearty texture. And I added a dash of nutmeg and ground ginger, as well as some chopped pecans. I didn't think they spread out too much. They aren't scones in the traditional sense, but definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I also would not call these scones. They are too light and soft to be scones. Mine did spread a lot probably because my pears were very moist. The flavor is sublime. Very delicate spicing let the pear flavor shine. I will certainly make them again, at least until I use up all these very ripe pears. I'm going to try a little more flour in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Perfect! I followed the directions exactly except I used whole wheat flour. I topped half of them with honey and half with powered sugar icing. I'm sure I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Good, not to sweet. We really enjoyed them, thanks.I did use vanilla yogurt instead of cream. Use a pastry blender to mix the butter, Flour & sugar. Your hands will warm it to much & make it thinner.I let them cool completely before putting the left over ones in a tin, they do get soft overnight. I toasted them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
smells wonderful in the oven. made mine with 2 bosc pears and a little sour cream with a splash of milk since that was what i had in fridge. should be tasty from the way they smell. reminds me of a sweet biscuit recipe from home economics back in middle school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzylogicricecooker
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Tris' "Pear Puddles" happened because she used too many pears. I made four recipes and used the required fruit and they turned out with a nice texture. I used her idea of cardamon and orange peel. My co-workers loved them. One lady said, "Your cookies are delicious." Thank you, I will definitely use this recipe next season when our trees are full of pears, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This are excellent. Nice, soft, thick dough. I added 1/2 tsp ginger to the batter and 1 pear=1 cup so for those who said batter was too thin and they spread like puddles, pay attention to the recipe. 4 pears??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States