Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Good, not to sweet. We really enjoyed them, thanks.I did use vanilla yogurt instead of cream. Use a pastry blender to mix the butter, Flour & sugar. Your hands will warm it to much & make it thinner.I let them cool completely before putting the left over ones in a tin, they do get soft overnight. I toasted them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
smells wonderful in the oven. made mine with 2 bosc pears and a little sour cream with a splash of milk since that was what i had in fridge. should be tasty from the way they smell. reminds me of a sweet biscuit recipe from home economics back in middle school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Tris' "Pear Puddles" happened because she used too many pears. I made four recipes and used the required fruit and they turned out with a nice texture. I used her idea of cardamon and orange peel. My co-workers loved them. One lady said, "Your cookies are delicious." Thank you, I will definitely use this recipe next season when our trees are full of pears, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This are excellent. Nice, soft, thick dough. I added 1/2 tsp ginger to the batter and 1 pear=1 cup so for those who said batter was too thin and they spread like puddles, pay attention to the recipe. 4 pears??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Used 1 home-grown bartlet pear and plain yogurt instead of cream-dough was just like scone dough should be. Served them with my pear and ginger marmalade and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
these were excellent, i did the flour and butter part in the food processor and it made very quick work of them, i also subbed ginger for the cinnamon. I ate 2 already and they are just out of the oven. A great way to use garden pears, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These turned out great! Even the kids had seconds. I substituted sour cream for the half and half and found the consistency before and after baking to be perfect. Yum! I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I used whole wheat flour instead of ap flour, 3 T honey instead of brown sugar, oil instead of butter, and soy milk in place of half and half. Maybe I should not review this with all my changes, but this definitely was worth the try with fresh pears! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was ok, but rather more like a muffin than a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I made this because I have a pear tree and needed to use up some pears. One change: I substituted milk for the half-and-half, and only added a little at a time until the batter was just barely moist (it was probably closer to 1/3 cup than 1/2 cup). This change made the batter just right, not too wet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane S
Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States