Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Already made them 2 days in a row! My husband ate the first batch right up! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Just took these out of the oven they were awesome not to heavy not to sweet.... very very good. We did not have pears at our store so i subsituted plums and they were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Quite good. Baking powder blends well with no shocks. A very light and fluffy treat to have with tea that adds a flare of pear every once and awhile. (a bit of nutmeg works well in it as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I made it with freshly ground whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, but otherwise made it exactly as written. I used my trusty little Pampered Chef egg slicer to dice the pears (which I didn't bother peeling). I used a large cookie scoop to dip the dough, and it made 15 smallish scones, which were perfect size for my 3 1/2 year old. Big hit at breakfast this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
More cakey than sconey, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made these to use the pears in my fruit bowl, they did spread out like other reviewers said, which I was afraid would happen as the batter was thinner than a typical scone batter. As the first ones spread, I decided to cook the rest of the batter in muffin cups and turned out much better. My 2 and 4 year old were eating the batter out of the bowl as they taste great, just not scones. Perhaps adding extra flour and some baking soda would result in a better scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
great recipe for a light and healthy scone. The only change I made was substitute all-purpose flour with whole sprouted wheat flour. It was divine! Thank you so much for sharing this simple and delicious scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I used a half and half mixture of whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour instead of AP. Gave it a nice, hearty texture. And I added a dash of nutmeg and ground ginger, as well as some chopped pecans. I didn't think they spread out too much. They aren't scones in the traditional sense, but definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I also would not call these scones. They are too light and soft to be scones. Mine did spread a lot probably because my pears were very moist. The flavor is sublime. Very delicate spicing let the pear flavor shine. I will certainly make them again, at least until I use up all these very ripe pears. I'm going to try a little more flour in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Perfect! I followed the directions exactly except I used whole wheat flour. I topped half of them with honey and half with powered sugar icing. I'm sure I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States