Pear Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I grew up on this recipe, as did my Mom and her Mom. People look at me like I am crazy when they see me eating it but it is sooo good. Reminds me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was fabulous. My mother used to make these. There is just something wonderful about the taste of all the ingredients mixed together. Perfect. And don't do like the one rater said and scrap off the cheese and mayo and just eat the pear. She said it "sounded" gross. Obviously she didnt even taste it. Thanks for reminding me of this simple yet delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is an old family recipe that we've been serving for over 100 years. Although you can use mayo, the "old time" version requires you to make a 1/2 mayo 1/2 cream cheese mixture. I know it sounds quite odd, but it is soooo yummy! We serve it on a large lettuce leaf. The colors are amazing and it makes a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I grew up eating Pear Salad too!!! We still have them at our family reunion every year and for special occasions. It does sound strange but don't knock it til you try it. I think you really do have to grow up eating it to really appreciate it. I don't even like pears - this is the only way I will eat them. So simple and so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I was going to submit this too! This may sound disgusting, but it will surprise you how good it is! In my family, it goes back to at least my great-grandmother. I'm going to try it sometime with the Cream Cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is such a wonderfully easy salad to make. I like the suggestions of the cherries and of mixing 1/2 cream cheese and 1/2 mayo. I had always made it with just the mayo and sharp chedder cheese. I'll be trying the cream cheese mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I've always made this but never put the marichino cherries. Just the pears, mayo and cheddar cheese. Yummmm.. such odd ingredients but the flavors are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I grew up eating this salad...we love it! My sister makes it with pineapple slices too...so pretty on a plate of lettuce leaves! We are having it tonight with spaghetti...it's a family tradition! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've also grown up eating these. We would always have them when we went to the beach. It does sound weird, but it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lboogie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I've eaten this all my life so it seems normal to me, but I guess I can understand how some people might find it odd. Those people need to be braver. This is fantastic: the sweet pears, the rich mayo, the sharp cheese . . . unreal! Serve it with a little of the pear syrup poured over the top; the syrup combines with the mayo into pure deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States