Pear Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is an old family recipe that we've been serving for over 100 years. Although you can use mayo, the "old time" version requires you to make a 1/2 mayo 1/2 cream cheese mixture. I know it sounds quite odd, but it is soooo yummy! We serve it on a large lettuce leaf. The colors are amazing and it makes a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I've eaten this all my life so it seems normal to me, but I guess I can understand how some people might find it odd. Those people need to be braver. This is fantastic: the sweet pears, the rich mayo, the sharp cheese . . . unreal! Serve it with a little of the pear syrup poured over the top; the syrup combines with the mayo into pure deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am from FL. I have never heard of something like this before. WOW. It's great! I love it! Very weird, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I grew up eating Pear Salad too!!! We still have them at our family reunion every year and for special occasions. It does sound strange but don't knock it til you try it. I think you really do have to grow up eating it to really appreciate it. I don't even like pears - this is the only way I will eat them. So simple and so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Great little fruit side salad. I remember now that this used to be really popular in the 60's-70's. It's as good now as it was then. I don't like mayo so I cut it with half cream cheese in a compromise. I didn't have cherries since we'd used them for sundaes and I'd completely forgotten, so I used some cinnamon candies instead for the top. My mom always used canned pears but I used fresh and this was so much better! Thanks for a great way to fix pears. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was fabulous. My mother used to make these. There is just something wonderful about the taste of all the ingredients mixed together. Perfect. And don't do like the one rater said and scrap off the cheese and mayo and just eat the pear. She said it "sounded" gross. Obviously she didnt even taste it. Thanks for reminding me of this simple yet delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I grew up on this recipe, as did my Mom and her Mom. People look at me like I am crazy when they see me eating it but it is sooo good. Reminds me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I was going to submit this too! This may sound disgusting, but it will surprise you how good it is! In my family, it goes back to at least my great-grandmother. I'm going to try it sometime with the Cream Cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I didn't like it very much. There were too many mismatched flavors in my opinion, but they weren't that bad. Maybe with the cream cheese suggestion or less mayonnaise they would have been better. Interesting flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I grew up eating this salad...we love it! My sister makes it with pineapple slices too...so pretty on a plate of lettuce leaves! We are having it tonight with spaghetti...it's a family tradition! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States