Pear Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is an old family recipe that we've been serving for over 100 years. Although you can use mayo, the "old time" version requires you to make a 1/2 mayo 1/2 cream cheese mixture. I know it sounds quite odd, but it is soooo yummy! We serve it on a large lettuce leaf. The colors are amazing and it makes a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I was going to submit this too! This may sound disgusting, but it will surprise you how good it is! In my family, it goes back to at least my great-grandmother. I'm going to try it sometime with the Cream Cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
My hubby's mom used to make this for him & he had me try it a lonnnng time ago. It's pretty good! I haven't ever tried it w/ cream cheese but I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I grew up on this recipe, as did my Mom and her Mom. People look at me like I am crazy when they see me eating it but it is sooo good. Reminds me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've also grown up eating these. We would always have them when we went to the beach. It does sound weird, but it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lboogie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My Ex-Mother-in-law made this. She was from North Carolina, and apparently it was an old family recipe. I think you had to be exposed to this stuff at a young age to like it. I always thought it was gross. I would scrape off the mayo, and eat the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyloufu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
One of my favorite quick and easy snacks -- the tang of cheddar cheese and the sweetness of the pear are a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was fabulous. My mother used to make these. There is just something wonderful about the taste of all the ingredients mixed together. Perfect. And don't do like the one rater said and scrap off the cheese and mayo and just eat the pear. She said it "sounded" gross. Obviously she didnt even taste it. Thanks for reminding me of this simple yet delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is such a wonderfully easy salad to make. I like the suggestions of the cherries and of mixing 1/2 cream cheese and 1/2 mayo. I had always made it with just the mayo and sharp chedder cheese. I'll be trying the cream cheese mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I've always made this but never put the marichino cherries. Just the pears, mayo and cheddar cheese. Yummmm.. such odd ingredients but the flavors are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States