Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe reminds me of one my grandma gave me that has rhubarb in it, I love the custard. I wanted to use up some pears and this really worked. I used 6 pears instead of 2, used a deep dish pie pan, and a pillsbury pie crust. I also added one egg,to make 3 total changed the sugar to 1/3, the butter to 1/3 and added a dash of salt. It turned out so beautiful, and it used up more fruit. Thanks for a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was really tasty! It had thin meringue crust on top that was a perfect complement to the pears. I added 2/3 cup of sugar and a dash of cinnamon. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I made this pie last night - this is really, really, good. I added cinnamon surgar with nutmeg on the pears before toping with the batter. Very easy to make. I will make this again and try with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is delicious! I used up about 5 small pears that were just about over-ripe. I had arranged them in a really pretty pattern, but it was all covered up by the custard- which was ok in the end, as it is absolutely delicious. Mine made a thin golden-brown meringue layer on the top, and did not take anywhere near the whole hour to bake. I made butter-flaky crust from this site and made only half the crust recipe to achieve a thin bottom crust. I also "marinated" my pears in some lemon juice after they were sliced while I prepared everything else, which kept them from turning too brown and added a little flavor as well. Can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Sooo Good! I doubled the pears (used 4 instead of 2) and put in a pyrex without a pie crust. Also added cinnamon to the top after cooking. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I enjoyed this Pear Pie...it tasted delicious. I added some cinnamon as others have suggested and one extra pear. Very good pie.. this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike'swife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My husbands favorite. I am always asked to bring it to our family functions. Using hard or very ripe pears, it turns out great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATALINACONWAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Excellent. I used four pears rather than two and cut them into thin slices, this way they got distributed better throughout the pie. I also added a dash of cinnamon to the custard. This was delicious both hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I thought this pie was awesome! I made this for my husband and father in law, and they loved it too! I used 3 very large bosc pears, pealed them and cut them about 1/2" thick. I let them set in Lemon Juice while prepping other things. I took the advise of some of the other reviews and upped the butter to about 1 & 1/4 sticks, added about 1/4 cup brown sugar, and one more egg (total 3), and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the custard mix. I also used Splenda instead of sugar (father in law is type 2.) I sprinkled the top of the pie with Cinnamon Sugar lightly, and it got a very nice golden brown crust. The other thing I did was I thought that maybe the crust would get burned in the oven for a whole hour, so about 1/2 way through, I pulled it out and covered the edges of the pie with foil and it stayed nice and golden brown. Thanks so much for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States