Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I liked this pie. However, I followed the recipe of one of the reviewers. I also used 1/3 C butter and 1/3 C sugar and I also used 6 pears. When I make it again I will add cinnamin to the custard to add a little more flavor. I did sprinkle cinnamin and sugar on the top of the pie once it came out of the oven. that added a little more flavor. My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe reminds me of one my grandma gave me that has rhubarb in it, I love the custard. I wanted to use up some pears and this really worked. I used 6 pears instead of 2, used a deep dish pie pan, and a pillsbury pie crust. I also added one egg,to make 3 total changed the sugar to 1/3, the butter to 1/3 and added a dash of salt. It turned out so beautiful, and it used up more fruit. Thanks for a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe. I used brown sugar in the custard and it had a rich, delicious color and flavor. Sprinkle the tops with a little cinnamon/brown sugar and add ground nutmeg to the pears. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is delicious! I used up about 5 small pears that were just about over-ripe. I had arranged them in a really pretty pattern, but it was all covered up by the custard- which was ok in the end, as it is absolutely delicious. Mine made a thin golden-brown meringue layer on the top, and did not take anywhere near the whole hour to bake. I made butter-flaky crust from this site and made only half the crust recipe to achieve a thin bottom crust. I also "marinated" my pears in some lemon juice after they were sliced while I prepared everything else, which kept them from turning too brown and added a little flavor as well. Can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Great recipe! I tried this out on Family Night and everyone loved it! My only suggestion is to use ripe soft pears. I can't imagine this tasting as great as it did with the crunchier pears. I also added a dash of cinnamon to spice it up a bit. The cooking time was a bit longer than an hour, but all in all, a great recipe that takes some time to prepare but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I was really surprised how much I like this pie, the only thing I did different was to slice the pears at the bottom of the pie. It was easy to make and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
The only thing I did different is the crust. I used one cup of flour, one tbsp. of sugar and 1/2 cup of butter. I put it through a processor and then pressed it in the bottom of the cake pan. Then I put the pears on top of it and poured the egg batter over the top and cooked it. Yummmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very good. Used pears from friend's tree. Now I will have to make it every year:). Use 1/4 pound butter, not 1/4 cup butter. Also, I cut the white suger to 3/4 cup and changed the Vanilla to 3teasp.+ 1 teasp almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was a really great recipe. Use really ripe pears for this. The custard was delicious and would also be a great base for a mixed berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was really good but too sweet. The next time I make this I will cut down the sugar and probably wait for the pears to get supper ripe. Mine were a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States