Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I love it!! My husband is not really a pear fan but he liked it. I just used a little less sugar, I don't like too sweet deserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
What a beautiful pie! And delicious too. I sliced my pears before fanning them into the plate. I also added about 2 T chopped candied ginger into the egg mixture before pouring it over the pears. After baking, I cut a couple of the larger pieces of ginger into leaf shapes and arranged them on top of the pie for a Thanksgiving dinner. It was wonderful. Serve it warm if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving and I did like it but found it a bit bland. That's pears for you though. I even added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg but it still needed something. What really made it better is I made some caramel sauce and whipped cream to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Extremely easy to make. I recommend as the photos do, slice the pears instead of halving them, they fit better. Use as many pears as will fit. IMO, no need to peel the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I am in the middle of baking this pie right now, and I am not so happy with it erupting all over my cookie sheet right now. The 4 ripe pears are so juicey they have been flowing up the sides of the crust and over the crust edge taking off these edges, along with some of the custard filling, on the way to the cookie sheet. I bumped up the pears to 4 and made sure they were ripe per suggestions, I went with 3 eggs & 1/3 cup sugar & butter like suggested, I tossed the pears in some nutmeg and all spice as suggested, and I even topped it off with a struesal topping trying to give it a little something extra on my part.. I am not even sure how edible this will be when whatever is left in the pie crust is done baking, and if I want to bring it for Thanksgiving tomorrow to share with the family. I am hovering on the disappointed side right now. I guess I will know more in a few minutes when it's ready to pull out of the oven to cool. So, I am not sure how anyone fit 6 pears sliced up and the custard into a deep dish pie crust. The house smells great, but the mess in my oven is not very appealing so I am only giving it 2 stars after my attempt at this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My family loved this pear pie. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCS523
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
AMAZING! Had some pears that were getting soft and a bit brown. Made this pie with 3-4 pears instead of 2. FABULOUS! A new favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCS523

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Awesome! A few personal substitutions to suit my taste (such as alittle more spice) and this was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanahope

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I used 5 pears, reduced the sugar, added a 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract and sprinkled about a 1/4 cup of sliced almonds on the top before baking. Everyone enjoyed it. My parents raved about it and wouldn't let me take the leftovers home with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Everding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was an amazing pie. Subtle. I used an extra pear the second time and it came out even better. I also put aluminum foil around the edges of the pie for the first half of the baking. Came out perfect! This will become one of my yearly holiday pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States