Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My family loved this pear pie. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCS523
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
AMAZING! Had some pears that were getting soft and a bit brown. Made this pie with 3-4 pears instead of 2. FABULOUS! A new favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCS523

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Awesome! A few personal substitutions to suit my taste (such as alittle more spice) and this was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanahope

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I used 5 pears, reduced the sugar, added a 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract and sprinkled about a 1/4 cup of sliced almonds on the top before baking. Everyone enjoyed it. My parents raved about it and wouldn't let me take the leftovers home with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Everding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was an amazing pie. Subtle. I used an extra pear the second time and it came out even better. I also put aluminum foil around the edges of the pie for the first half of the baking. Came out perfect! This will become one of my yearly holiday pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this pie three times (once with apples) and the last version worked the best. Here is is:- Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Core four pears, slice thinly and arrange fan-style in layers around the unbaked pie shell. Cream 2 oz of butter with 1/3 cup of sugar. Add 2 beaten eggs and beat until light and fluffy. Carefully stir in 1/3 cup of flour. Add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence and 1/2 teaspoon almond essence. Beat the white of one egg until stiff peaks form, then use a metal spoon or knife to cut it into the flour mixture as if making a souffle. Spoon the mixture over the pears taking care so as not to deflate the air within it. Sprinkle lightly with cinammon. Place the pie on a wire cooling rack and bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 375 for a further 25 minutes, then lower heat to 350 degrees for a further 20 minutes (one hour in total). The pie is cooked when the top is golden brown and the custard is set. If liquid is visible the pie is not cooked. Remove the wire rack with the pie on it and allow it to cool completely before slicing. Take care when removing from the oven as the pie is fragile until cool. The result will be a 'frangipani' type of pear tart, with firm but soft fruit surrounded by a soft custard topped with a crisp slightly chewy and meringue like top. The recipe can be prepared in the same way with apples but it needs only about 40 minutes baking time, 15 minutes at 425 then 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irene
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have made this pie twice and it was much better the second time. The only thing i changed was that i used 6 pears. Will most deffenantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
i made this pie twice. Once as written and once with the following changes which i thought made it a five star pie. I used six small pears which i soaked in a couple tablespoons of brandy and sprinkled with cinnamon. As others did, i used 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Upped the eggs to 3 and then i topped the pie with a crumb topping prior to baking using 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter and 1 1/2 teas. cinnamon.(might have been slightly too much topping) Love the custard in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I thought this was ok. It certainly was nice to have a different type of fruit pie, however, I think I'll look for other pear recipes. I mad this for my husband, parents, and brother, and none of us thought it was really anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Really good. Made it this evening and everyone enjoyed it. But I did double the amount of pears. And after reading the reviews I followed some of them by drizzling the pears with lemon juice and adding a touch of nutmeg and cinnamon before adding them to the pie. My pie did need 55 minutes to cook perfectly. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States