Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Extremely easy to make. I recommend as the photos do, slice the pears instead of halving them, they fit better. Use as many pears as will fit. IMO, no need to peel the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I am in the middle of baking this pie right now, and I am not so happy with it erupting all over my cookie sheet right now. The 4 ripe pears are so juicey they have been flowing up the sides of the crust and over the crust edge taking off these edges, along with some of the custard filling, on the way to the cookie sheet. I bumped up the pears to 4 and made sure they were ripe per suggestions, I went with 3 eggs & 1/3 cup sugar & butter like suggested, I tossed the pears in some nutmeg and all spice as suggested, and I even topped it off with a struesal topping trying to give it a little something extra on my part.. I am not even sure how edible this will be when whatever is left in the pie crust is done baking, and if I want to bring it for Thanksgiving tomorrow to share with the family. I am hovering on the disappointed side right now. I guess I will know more in a few minutes when it's ready to pull out of the oven to cool. So, I am not sure how anyone fit 6 pears sliced up and the custard into a deep dish pie crust. The house smells great, but the mess in my oven is not very appealing so I am only giving it 2 stars after my attempt at this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My family loved this pear pie. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCS523
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
AMAZING! Had some pears that were getting soft and a bit brown. Made this pie with 3-4 pears instead of 2. FABULOUS! A new favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCS523

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Awesome! A few personal substitutions to suit my taste (such as alittle more spice) and this was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanahope

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I used 5 pears, reduced the sugar, added a 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract and sprinkled about a 1/4 cup of sliced almonds on the top before baking. Everyone enjoyed it. My parents raved about it and wouldn't let me take the leftovers home with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Everding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was an amazing pie. Subtle. I used an extra pear the second time and it came out even better. I also put aluminum foil around the edges of the pie for the first half of the baking. Came out perfect! This will become one of my yearly holiday pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this pie three times (once with apples) and the last version worked the best. Here is is:- Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Core four pears, slice thinly and arrange fan-style in layers around the unbaked pie shell. Cream 2 oz of butter with 1/3 cup of sugar. Add 2 beaten eggs and beat until light and fluffy. Carefully stir in 1/3 cup of flour. Add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence and 1/2 teaspoon almond essence. Beat the white of one egg until stiff peaks form, then use a metal spoon or knife to cut it into the flour mixture as if making a souffle. Spoon the mixture over the pears taking care so as not to deflate the air within it. Sprinkle lightly with cinammon. Place the pie on a wire cooling rack and bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 375 for a further 25 minutes, then lower heat to 350 degrees for a further 20 minutes (one hour in total). The pie is cooked when the top is golden brown and the custard is set. If liquid is visible the pie is not cooked. Remove the wire rack with the pie on it and allow it to cool completely before slicing. Take care when removing from the oven as the pie is fragile until cool. The result will be a 'frangipani' type of pear tart, with firm but soft fruit surrounded by a soft custard topped with a crisp slightly chewy and meringue like top. The recipe can be prepared in the same way with apples but it needs only about 40 minutes baking time, 15 minutes at 425 then 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irene
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have made this pie twice and it was much better the second time. The only thing i changed was that i used 6 pears. Will most deffenantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
i made this pie twice. Once as written and once with the following changes which i thought made it a five star pie. I used six small pears which i soaked in a couple tablespoons of brandy and sprinkled with cinnamon. As others did, i used 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Upped the eggs to 3 and then i topped the pie with a crumb topping prior to baking using 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter and 1 1/2 teas. cinnamon.(might have been slightly too much topping) Love the custard in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States