Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Wonderful. Following other reviews, I increased the butter and pears. I had bosc pears, so sliced them thin, used 5 to make 3 spiral layers. The pears kept their shape nicely. Also added 1 tsp. Pampered chef's Cinnamon Plus spice blend (cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, orange peel). I think next time I will try putting the filling on the bottom, then the pears (has anyone tried that?) - the filling covered all my pretty layers. My 6 yr old boy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thewhiterabbit
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
So yummy! I added a couple of drops of almond extract and added frozen raspberries in with the pears. Also used the basic flaky pie crust recipe and made the crust from scratch. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Fantastic. Even my picky eater enjoyed it. After reading changes I made my own. 4 ripe Pears quartered, 1/3 cup butter, 1/3 cup flour, 1 tbs. cinnamon, 3 eggs. The custard filled the pie crust and after @ 45 min. made a beautiful golden brown topping with a moist center. Not one crumb left. Thank you for the recipe and thanks to all who left comments about what changes they made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Easy recipe. Make sure to slice pears thin enough to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chicbunny
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Absolutely amazing! The only thing I did differently was rude 1/3 of the sugar because the pears are already very ripe and sweet. This recipe and totally changed the way I think about baking pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made this pie repeatedly throughout the holiday season last year. It's so easy, pretty, and different from the pies you usually see on the holiday table. My extended family loved this at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this pie a few days ago; I think the name of this recipe should be changed from "pear pie" to "pear custard." It was really delicious and really simple. I didn't see a need to peel the pears, so I didnt'; I just sliced them. Also, when making the custard, I added a small sprinkle of cinnamon and I reduced the amount of vanilla extract to a dash. Overall, it was really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was a very good dessert. Used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. It got a crusty top and left a hole where each pear was placed. it looked like a picture! Every one loved it. I put it in a tart pan and it looked quite awesome. It was super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great starting point. I took the advice of several reviewers and used 3 eggs and changed the sugar to 1/3 and the butter to 1/3 for a deep pie pan. Other recommendations:use soft Bartlett pears. I've made it with other pears and it doesn't work near as well. Also, before serving, refrigerate it. We had it at room temperature it was okay but once it was cooled, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
The recipe is quick, easy, and delicious. I used canned pears from our pear tree I canned this past summer and that was easy. Also I added a packet of maple brown sugar oatmeal (quaker). This gave it a little more depth, and then I sprinkled cinnamon on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States