Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I love this recipe! I used a different type of pastry, fillo pastry and used 4 sheets. I sprayed light olive oil between the sheets as I layered them. It worked out fantastically because it was flaky, airy and light. I only cooked it for about 45 minutes and found it cooked thoughout the whole pie. My family loved it!!! Next time I would only cook it for 30 minutes on 155 fan forced as it was still meringue texture on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this adding cinnamon, but.....forgot the flour. It was delicious without it. The top became caramelized and crispy. My two friends said don't change a thing. I gave 5 stars for several reasons, it is very easy to make, excellent flavor and this can be the basis for many other ingredients. They both thought it was apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I've made this pie twice now to great reviews. Because I have a 100 years old heirloom pear tree on my property, I use those pears. They grow very small, however and are hard, unlike many GM pears on the market. I solved the problem by poaching them in a sugar water with a stick of cinnamon and 6 cloves. This solved the problem many cited about too little flavor. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon in the custard as suggested. Very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Lund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Recipe didn't work for me. The top did not cook properly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Was a wonderful surprise to use up those left over pears you get in a big gift basket. Perfect as is recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The reviews all said to up the butter and lower the sugar. I ended up with a gross buttery mess. DO NOT up the butter to half cup as all it did was just ooze out of the cooled pie. I regret following users suggestions as the pie is not tasty at all. I did 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3 eggs (everything else the same). If I ever have over ripe pears on hand, I'll follow the recipe with maybe dropping the sugar a little to like 3/4 cup. I'm definitely bummed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is an outstanding pie! My wife says it is the best pie she has ever eaten. I sliced the pears but other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
A friend made this pie at a party and everyone loved it, so I got the recipe and made it as well. I got the same reaction. Everyone I have given this recipe to says the same thing. Its so easy and soo yummy. Finding this pie recipe was a game changer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDude909
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great pear pie. One of the best parts is when the custard near the top/edges caramelizes and has a great rich flavor. Like one reviewer, I used a cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, which made the flavor nice and rich, while still light. I also sliced the pears and arranged them in layers (pears, custard, pear, custard). This made it look really nice when serving slices and allows you to get a good custard/pear ratio throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe and found it to be too sweet. It would be wonderful with half the sugar or smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States