Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
so delicious, custard like center-great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I first made this pie last year, but with just two pears just didn't seem enough so I added more. Curving the pears around one another in a spiral and all around maybe about 5-6 pears sliced like so. So delicious....that's the only thing I did. Now everyone wants a pear pie and this pear pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I have made this recipe many times using several different fruits such as apples, berries and one time pitted cherries. It's always a hit! I used one teaspoon of vanilla instead of the one tablespoon as called for in the recipe. I also use a shortbread crust recipe for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Loved the pie and so easy to make. The only things I did different was use 3/4 cup sugar, half white, half brown and I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Next time I'll put in at least one more pear for 2 did not quite fill the pie shell....Emida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I love this recipe! I used a different type of pastry, fillo pastry and used 4 sheets. I sprayed light olive oil between the sheets as I layered them. It worked out fantastically because it was flaky, airy and light. I only cooked it for about 45 minutes and found it cooked thoughout the whole pie. My family loved it!!! Next time I would only cook it for 30 minutes on 155 fan forced as it was still meringue texture on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this adding cinnamon, but.....forgot the flour. It was delicious without it. The top became caramelized and crispy. My two friends said don't change a thing. I gave 5 stars for several reasons, it is very easy to make, excellent flavor and this can be the basis for many other ingredients. They both thought it was apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I've made this pie twice now to great reviews. Because I have a 100 years old heirloom pear tree on my property, I use those pears. They grow very small, however and are hard, unlike many GM pears on the market. I solved the problem by poaching them in a sugar water with a stick of cinnamon and 6 cloves. This solved the problem many cited about too little flavor. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon in the custard as suggested. Very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Lund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Recipe didn't work for me. The top did not cook properly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Was a wonderful surprise to use up those left over pears you get in a big gift basket. Perfect as is recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The reviews all said to up the butter and lower the sugar. I ended up with a gross buttery mess. DO NOT up the butter to half cup as all it did was just ooze out of the cooled pie. I regret following users suggestions as the pie is not tasty at all. I did 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3 eggs (everything else the same). If I ever have over ripe pears on hand, I'll follow the recipe with maybe dropping the sugar a little to like 3/4 cup. I'm definitely bummed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States