Pear Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
YUM! I did use 1/2 vanilla extract and 1/2 almond extract, but otherwise I followed this recipe as written and the pie tastes like heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This pear pie tasted fine, but it is kind of boring. I think a non custard recipe, something more like an apple pie, would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slacker Deluxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious - followed the recipe exactly and we loved it. I'm sure there are adjustments that could be made, but start with the original and go from there. I'm going to add ground almonds to the crust next time. The consistency was perfect and the almond flavoring really enhanced the pears. This will be a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was delicious. I followed a few reviewers' advice and cut the sugar to 1/2 Cup, added a little cinnamon and vanilla and sprinkled the top with brown sugar. I'm looking forward to trying with other fruits such as mangos, and strawberries which will need more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Great! very quick and easy to make. I only had 2 eggs and the custard texture was perfect. Will try with less sugar next time as found a tad too sweet but then did sprinkle some cinnamon sugar on during cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was so quick and easy to whip up...will be good when guest drop by. First time have ever made a fresh pear pie and this is delicious way to eat your pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is fabulous!!! I have made it a dozen times now and it always turns out! I always put the pears in first and the filling over the top so it's easier to work with. Don't forget the Almond Extract, this is what really makes it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was pretty good. I sliced and boiled two over-ripe pears and then drained them so the pie wouldn't be too watery. I then added a drained can of pears to supplement the number of pears. I substituted vanilla extract for almond extract and added a Tbsp. of cinnamon. I mixed all the filling ingredients together and baked at 375 for 36 min and it was cooked perfectly. The texture is nice, firm, and easy to cut. The pie doesn't have a strong enough "pear" taste to suit me, but overall, it was good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I read that it was supposed to have a custard texture but when i made it it was bread-ish in texture. I have no idea if i may have done something wrong, maybe baked too long. The Man-Thing thought the flavor was okay but the texture was just not what one would expect when biting into a pie. If i ever get more pears that i need to do something with i will try it again simply because it bugs me that something, although i dont know what, had to have been done wrong. If/when i do try again hopefully i can revise and give it 5 stars and figure out what NOT to do :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TANGLES1
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
The filling works very well i made my own case with a bit off ginger powder and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TANGLES1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States