Pear Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Superb! I've been giving neighbors and friends a bag of pears from my tree along with the recipe and everyone just loves it! It certainly satisfies a sweet tooth. The almond although complimentary to the pears, was a bit too strong, so I put 1/2 tsp. almond, along with 1/2 tsp. vanilla. I also sprinkle some brown sugar on top. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe Nancy. Everyone I've shared it with loves it, but I'm running out of pears!!! Fran
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
It was a very easy pie to make with the frozen pie crust, and the almond flavour was a nice change of taste. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is a delicious pie! I never thought of combining pears with a custard pie, but it is perfect. I think it's a great dessert for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galien, Michigan, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
My family really liked this pie. I did as others and replaced the white sugar with brown and used half almond flavoring and vanilla. Good way to use pears that are getting too ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was awesome!! Brought it into work, a co-worker said this was probably the best thing I'd ever brought in. My only tip would be, definitely use a homemade crust, not one of those store bought frozen ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Yummy! We are trying to watch our sugar, so I used 1/3 cup sugar, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup Splenda. We only had 2 large Asian pears, so they are still a little crunchy. Next time I will use bartletts. I also added a handful of raisins (that I plumped in hot water) and they added some another layer of flavor and texture. I thought the almond extract was just perfect. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great recipe--one more thing, we ate it right out of the oven and it was great, can't wait to taste it tomorrow when it is cold as recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This is delicious! and what a pleasant change from the usual fruit pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This was the best pie I have tasted in a long time. Very quick and easy. My family just loves it and asks for it all the time. I recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Made this with leftover pears for a dinner party of 6 - everyone wanted seconds! Super easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This pie is easy and awesome!! I used two large anjou pears and that was more than enough. I also substituted the almond extract for vanilla and it tasted greate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States