Pear Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
My family really liked this pie. I did as others and replaced the white sugar with brown and used half almond flavoring and vanilla. Good way to use pears that are getting too ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Superb! I've been giving neighbors and friends a bag of pears from my tree along with the recipe and everyone just loves it! It certainly satisfies a sweet tooth. The almond although complimentary to the pears, was a bit too strong, so I put 1/2 tsp. almond, along with 1/2 tsp. vanilla. I also sprinkle some brown sugar on top. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe Nancy. Everyone I've shared it with loves it, but I'm running out of pears!!! Fran
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe was good. However, I followed one of the reviewer's recipe. I used 6 pears, 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Next time, I think I would use cinnamin in the custard. I did sprinkle cinnamin and sugar on the top of the pie once it came out of the oven. It gave it a little more flavor. My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by do_bi_do
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
It was my first time making a custard pie and it turned out very delicious! My mother can't have too much sugar so i used half a cup this time and it tasted great - it made room for the flavor of the pears. I would take out the pie when the custard is just starting to firm, as i overcooked mine a bit. But it all depends on what your preference is for the custard - i like mine tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I'm sorry, we didn't like this pie. I made in a 10 in. deep pie dish. I doubled the custard part and added more pears and increased baking time according to the size of my pie until center was set. The custard came out really firm and not custardy at all and I could barely taste the pears. I used bartlet and they were nice and ripe. I am an experienced baker and was very disappointed with this. I'm sorry, I guess we all have different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I have made this several times now, with different ready-bought crusts, and it always comes out yummy!! The only thing I change is I use half the sugar, but that's a personal preference. One time I really wanted pie but all I had around was canned pineapple, so I used that instead of pears... works great! So fast and easy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Yummy! We are trying to watch our sugar, so I used 1/3 cup sugar, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup Splenda. We only had 2 large Asian pears, so they are still a little crunchy. Next time I will use bartletts. I also added a handful of raisins (that I plumped in hot water) and they added some another layer of flavor and texture. I thought the almond extract was just perfect. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great recipe--one more thing, we ate it right out of the oven and it was great, can't wait to taste it tomorrow when it is cold as recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was very pretty, but not as tasty as it looked. I found it bland and there was not enough pear flavor. The almond was good, and I added vanilla, but it needed something more - perhaps cinnamon? It also needs a higher filling to crust ratio. I'd recommend Pear Pie III on this site if you want something similar, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
It was a very easy pie to make with the frozen pie crust, and the almond flavour was a nice change of taste. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
What a tasty and easy way to use soft pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States