Pear or Apple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This recipe was great. Used 3 pears and an apple. Mixed in with the pears a little bit of vanilla, white sugar and cinnamon along with the lemon juice. Found the syrup made the topping a little bit chewy and sticky but it was still good. It was more wet than the dry crubble topping I was expecting. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I used firm, green pears so I baked them about an hr., until they were soft. When the dish had sat for a while, I discovered fluid accumulating in the pan. I think the syrup s/b reduced and I believe some of the extra liquid was from the pears. I made the dish for someone else so I suggested he bake it at 350 for another 30 min. I suspect using a larger pan would help evaporate off some of the liquid. Tapioca might help, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used 3 pears and 2 apples; reduced the maple syrup to 1/4 cup. It's quick and yummy. Rave reviews from friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmilingFoodLove
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was excellent! I made it with pears, which made the dessert a bit fancier (with apples, I'm sure it's delicious, too). As other reviewers said, this is a recipe for a crisp, not a cobbler. I cut back on the sugar by half a cup and subbed whole wheat flour instead of white for the topping. I served it warm, with a little heart made of strawberries as decoration. It was a perfect Valentine's Day treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmilingFoodLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was so good! I used a longer baking dish and threw in a handful of blueberries with the apples. That added some color and It was done in a little less than 45 minutes. Didn't have ice cream so finished it off with whipped cream. My husband enjoyed it so this was definitely added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This has become one of my most requested dishes! Easy and yummy! I use gluten free flour on occasion for my gluten free friends and there is no difference in taste. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Oh my gosh this is so delicious!!! I used some pears that we received in a gift basket that were perfectly ripe. My husband loved it and asked if I would make it for Christmas. Next time I will definitely cut back on the sugar. The pears are so sweet anyway, so I'll cut back on both the maple syrup and the brown sugar in the topping. It was amazing, though. We topped it off with some french vanilla ice cream. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was amazing! I used 3 pears and 2 apples. A 1/2 cup more butter and a more cinnamon. Definite keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was delicious! Next time I will definitely use less maple syrup to cut some of the sweetness. Otherwise it is a keeper. I used a combination of apples and pears. I agree it is more of a crisp than a cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Very Good, I prepared this recipe with some very ripe apples. Cobbler was so good, family loved it! A nice save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States