Pear or Apple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Natial
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Delicious! Easy to make. Instead of using maple syrup, I just added a tiny amount of honey and cinnamon to the apples before adding the topping. I added pecans to the topping because I had some. I can see that I will have to double the recipe when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I've made this recipe several times and every time it gets rave reviews. I never have to worry about the bananas turning dark, because it never lasts long enough! I may have used more cool whip on the top because I got a large tub, but the recipe is perfect..just make sure the cream cheese is room temp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Very good. I made it using a combination of apples & pears since the pears I had were overripe and 4 turned into about 2 by the time I got done cutting away the overripe parts so I added 3 Granny Smith apples to the mix. The only changes I made (besides the apple/pear combo) was to add some toasted chopped walnuts to the topping (I had some that needed to get used before they were too far out of date) and I added an additional teaspoonful of cinnamon to the fruit mixture along with the butter & maple syrup. Because of the additional fruit & nuts I turned the cooking temp down to 350? and upped the cooking time to about 55 minutes. Because of all the brown sugar & butter I was hoping for a caramel sauce but it was thinner than I expected. Maybe once it cools in the fridge it will thicken up. I served it with a little real whipped cream. Overall it was quite good and I'll very likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
it was soggy and chewy, not crisp. waste of perfectly good fruit. very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This recipe was great. Used 3 pears and an apple. Mixed in with the pears a little bit of vanilla, white sugar and cinnamon along with the lemon juice. Found the syrup made the topping a little bit chewy and sticky but it was still good. It was more wet than the dry crubble topping I was expecting. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I used firm, green pears so I baked them about an hr., until they were soft. When the dish had sat for a while, I discovered fluid accumulating in the pan. I think the syrup s/b reduced and I believe some of the extra liquid was from the pears. I made the dish for someone else so I suggested he bake it at 350 for another 30 min. I suspect using a larger pan would help evaporate off some of the liquid. Tapioca might help, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used 3 pears and 2 apples; reduced the maple syrup to 1/4 cup. It's quick and yummy. Rave reviews from friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was excellent! I made it with pears, which made the dessert a bit fancier (with apples, I'm sure it's delicious, too). As other reviewers said, this is a recipe for a crisp, not a cobbler. I cut back on the sugar by half a cup and subbed whole wheat flour instead of white for the topping. I served it warm, with a little heart made of strawberries as decoration. It was a perfect Valentine's Day treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was so good! I used a longer baking dish and threw in a handful of blueberries with the apples. That added some color and It was done in a little less than 45 minutes. Didn't have ice cream so finished it off with whipped cream. My husband enjoyed it so this was definitely added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This has become one of my most requested dishes! Easy and yummy! I use gluten free flour on occasion for my gluten free friends and there is no difference in taste. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States