Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
We have an abundance of pears this time of year and I wanted a recipe that called for pears but also for canning them in some sort of fashion. This recipe was perfect and I can't wait until I can give these out for Christmas this year. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
New information----Ive Made this so many times and burned it so often, Ive finally found the secret! COOK DOWN THE PEARS AND JUICE AND WHEN THEY ARE THICK ADD THE SUGAR---I think its the sugar that burns before it cooks down. I loved this recipe, I used less sugar at first when I made the first batch and halved it. You could taste the pears and their mild flavor was so delicious, I decided to can more and give as christmas gifts. when I made the full recipe I burned it , so be careful. Thank you so much for an awesome recipe that will be made for years to come--as long as my inlaws have a pear tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Great taste! I don't think I would mistake it for honey and really, I wouldn't want to. This has a wonderful pear taste but is thick and rich like honey. I've made 3 batches. The first batch was a disaster. Although my pears were ripe, they weren't ripe enough so they never dissolved. I even tried stick blending them but it didn't work. I also followed the directions and simmered on medium for 2 hours, however, after only 1 hour, it all of the sudden turned into a burned mess. My second batch came out much better. You want to use very ripe pears - almost too ripe - so that they break down when cooked. Also, I cooked this for 3 hours on low - the lowest my stove would go - to prevent burning. It worked like a charm! My third batch is cooking now. I again used very ripe pears but I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. I think this is my favorite batch. It's darker, richer and has a much more complex flavor. Everyone who has tried it has loved it! Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I love this recipe. The first batch I made I cooked too long and it has the consistancy of jam. The next 2 batches came out wonderfully. I discovered if I steam the pears first and run them thru my blender the fruit breaks down faster and the cooking time decreases. Everyone is talking about my pear honey and can hardly wait for me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Mmmm! I just finished the first batch. I have to admit, the cooking time is very LONG. I was getting annoyed toward the end. I didn't want to leave it and have it scorch as others mentioned, so I stirred it constantly at the end. I got a bit impatient so I turned up the heat from time to time. As I said, though, I was right there, stirring. BUT, the reward is worth the wait. AND, all my jars sealed. Woo Hoo! I don't think it will last long around here. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I had scads of pears to work up and was looking for something that could be used to make PBJ's. This is perfect! Same color as honey, texture just a little different, and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is our third year using this great recipe. I'm so happy to have found it. We give out pear honey as gifts during the holiday season. :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
A word of warning--if you're going to make a half- or quarter-size recipe, cut down on the cooking time! I let mine go, thinking it would be fine, (it was the consistency of thick honey when I stopped cooking) and ended up with pear candy! It got hard after it cooled. Fortunately, it hadn't burned, so a few days later I melted it down and added more pineapple juice to recover the honey consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This is my second year canning and I'm being much more adventurous. This was a great recipe. It took about four hours on the stove. I also used rock hard pears so first I steamed them then half way through cooking I noticed the pears weren't breaking down so I zipped them in the blender. Great texture. I took another viewers advice and popped in a little candied cherry in the middle. This is my favorite canning recipe thus far I think. Really neat and pretty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States