Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I like the recipe ... however ... the timing for processing this is way way WAY off. It takes more than 30 minutes for this to thicken. Try 2 hrs to 3 hrs. This is nearly the same recipe as another one I've used, and let me tell you, 30 mins would only produce pear honey liquid. So if you're making this, try to simmer it for 2 to 3 hrs - until it has the color and consistency of honey. Good recipe, horrible directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
We have an abundance of pears this time of year and I wanted a recipe that called for pears but also for canning them in some sort of fashion. This recipe was perfect and I can't wait until I can give these out for Christmas this year. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
the recipe instructions do say 2/3 hours cooking time, please read carefully! great recipe if you have loads of pears to use in autumn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
New information----Ive Made this so many times and burned it so often, Ive finally found the secret! COOK DOWN THE PEARS AND JUICE AND WHEN THEY ARE THICK ADD THE SUGAR---I think its the sugar that burns before it cooks down. I loved this recipe, I used less sugar at first when I made the first batch and halved it. You could taste the pears and their mild flavor was so delicious, I decided to can more and give as christmas gifts. when I made the full recipe I burned it , so be careful. Thank you so much for an awesome recipe that will be made for years to come--as long as my inlaws have a pear tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Great taste! I don't think I would mistake it for honey and really, I wouldn't want to. This has a wonderful pear taste but is thick and rich like honey. I've made 3 batches. The first batch was a disaster. Although my pears were ripe, they weren't ripe enough so they never dissolved. I even tried stick blending them but it didn't work. I also followed the directions and simmered on medium for 2 hours, however, after only 1 hour, it all of the sudden turned into a burned mess. My second batch came out much better. You want to use very ripe pears - almost too ripe - so that they break down when cooked. Also, I cooked this for 3 hours on low - the lowest my stove would go - to prevent burning. It worked like a charm! My third batch is cooking now. I again used very ripe pears but I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. I think this is my favorite batch. It's darker, richer and has a much more complex flavor. Everyone who has tried it has loved it! Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this recipe except I used very ripe pears from my tree and only four cups of sugar. It turned out fantastic! I also dropped a maraschino cherry into each jar for a little "blush" and treat. I'll definitely make this again next year when I once again have an over-abundance of pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was very easy & everyone has been raving about the gifts I gave them. I pulsed the pears in my food processor to ensure they would fine and not chunky. I let it cook on low for a long time. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I LOVED THIS AND ITS SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi Spina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I love this recipe. The first batch I made I cooked too long and it has the consistancy of jam. The next 2 batches came out wonderfully. I discovered if I steam the pears first and run them thru my blender the fruit breaks down faster and the cooking time decreases. Everyone is talking about my pear honey and can hardly wait for me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States