Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is suprisingly similar to the taste of honey. I only used 7 cups of sugar and find that it is still a tad sweet for my taste I used my immersion blender at the end to smooth out the honey as I didnt want any little chunks in it. Overall a very good recipe, but if I was to make it again, I would cut down to 6 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Amazing dessert topping! I finely diced and steamed the pears for 15 minutes before simmering all ingredients for 2.5 hours. The final product has the consistancy of honey with small bits of pear, and tastes like caramelized pears. Yummy for topping vanilla ice cream or cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainemermaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Hill, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
YUM YUM !!! This is the first recipe in which I didn't use store bought pectin. I cooked it for 2 hrs on low after first boil and it is perfect- It set up nicely and taste is like honey. The only thing I changed was I added 2 T lemon juice. Scorching will occur if not stirred frequently- I do not recommend using stainless steel pot- I had to baby it every 5-10 mins. My husband loves honey and he loves this. Thanks for this great recipe. Reminds me of my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This looks great and I have 4 pear trees all loaded this year, but I am alergic to pineapple, is there another fruit juice with the same sort of enzymes that would work in this recipe, I am thinking the pineapple has a part in breaking down the hard pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very ripe pears is the secret but try adding 1/4 cup of rum to the recipe when it is just finished cooking. This puts an 'adult' flavour to it that can't be beat. I add this 'adult' Honey to the bottom layer of apple crisp, pear crisp or even fruit pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
We didn't care for the texture or taste. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moselle, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
3rd year making this-it's my favorite. Try it on a hot buttered biscuit-it's probably the best thing you've ever put in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Pace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I loved loved loved this! I had lots of pears to use at the first of September and found it very easy, even making a double batch. I've had half of my Christmas presents ready three months ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I tried to do this, but instead of cooking on the stove, I used my crockpot. Horrid results. The pears never did break down (and they were very ripe) and the juice did not thicken up at all. I had to throw the entire batch out. I guess I should have cooked it on the stove per the directions given. Oh well, lesson learned. Hated it though that I wasted so many pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I just finished making a double batch of this honey. I cooked it on medium high until it boiled and then on medium low for an hour. Then to medium to finish it up. It cooked a total of 2 1/2 hours, until it "sheeted". I stirred it frequently. It tastes great and it made 22 half pints. I can not wait to try this in my daughters favorite recipe, honey glazed chicken wings! Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Now what to do with the 3 bags of pears I have left. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyquilter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States