Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is definitely a keeper! I took a tip, and pureed the pears along with the juice beforehand - I didn't want chunks. After that I cooked on medium for about 1.5 hours in a porcelain pot - no scorching, but I was always in the kitchen and stirring FREQUENTLY. I only made half a batch so it was done a bit faster. Next time I will definitely turn it to simmer and try to cook longer as others suggested. It is great when warmed in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Excellent. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. You can reduce the sugar. You might want to start with half the sugar and then increase if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Lovely flavor and texture. I put the pears through the food processor with pineapple juice and then cooked it. The color is a lovely amber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Exceptional! A biscuit's best friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
i dont know if this was posted on other comments but once its open you need to refrigerate it. a friend of mine learned the hard way. tastes great tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very good...I gave in small jars for baby shower gifts and everyone has requested bigger jars. i did use 1/2 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and 3 different kinds of Pears. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is suprisingly similar to the taste of honey. I only used 7 cups of sugar and find that it is still a tad sweet for my taste I used my immersion blender at the end to smooth out the honey as I didnt want any little chunks in it. Overall a very good recipe, but if I was to make it again, I would cut down to 6 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Amazing dessert topping! I finely diced and steamed the pears for 15 minutes before simmering all ingredients for 2.5 hours. The final product has the consistancy of honey with small bits of pear, and tastes like caramelized pears. Yummy for topping vanilla ice cream or cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainemermaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Hill, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
YUM YUM !!! This is the first recipe in which I didn't use store bought pectin. I cooked it for 2 hrs on low after first boil and it is perfect- It set up nicely and taste is like honey. The only thing I changed was I added 2 T lemon juice. Scorching will occur if not stirred frequently- I do not recommend using stainless steel pot- I had to baby it every 5-10 mins. My husband loves honey and he loves this. Thanks for this great recipe. Reminds me of my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This looks great and I have 4 pear trees all loaded this year, but I am alergic to pineapple, is there another fruit juice with the same sort of enzymes that would work in this recipe, I am thinking the pineapple has a part in breaking down the hard pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States