Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I haven't made this yet (although it does look delicious and I am eager to try it) but, I thought I may suggest to those who have trouble with the pears burning on the stove: Has anyone tried doing this in a crock pot? My mom used to make applesauce very similar to this recipe (using apples instead of pears and apple juice instead of pineapple juice and less sugar.) She always did it on the stove and she had to watch it carefully to prevent it from burning. When I started making my own, I tried my crock pot and it works great -- no need to worry about it burning. It would probably take longer than 3 hours (my applesauce usually takes about 5-6.) I'm going to try it this way when I get around to making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is an excellent pear recipe if you like super sweet jelly. It seemed to me to have a carmel flavor. I used the blender to make it finer. I cut the sugar to four cups and it is still super sweet. I will give some of the jars away at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marienthal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was my first experience canning. The recipe is very simple & I followed it as written, stirring routinely but I was not constantly in the kitchen. I used 6 cups of sugar & it was still plenty sweet. Less sugar probably affected the end consistency as it was more like "apple butter" than traditional honey. Regardless, it is a huge hit with my family! Delicious - very excited to give away as Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this with some pears I had frozen from last fall. Very delicious. I loved it. I make pear honey with a similar recipe, and this one is just as good as the other I've used for years. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Weiker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is definitely a keeper! I took a tip, and pureed the pears along with the juice beforehand - I didn't want chunks. After that I cooked on medium for about 1.5 hours in a porcelain pot - no scorching, but I was always in the kitchen and stirring FREQUENTLY. I only made half a batch so it was done a bit faster. Next time I will definitely turn it to simmer and try to cook longer as others suggested. It is great when warmed in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Excellent. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. You can reduce the sugar. You might want to start with half the sugar and then increase if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Lovely flavor and texture. I put the pears through the food processor with pineapple juice and then cooked it. The color is a lovely amber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Exceptional! A biscuit's best friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
i dont know if this was posted on other comments but once its open you need to refrigerate it. a friend of mine learned the hard way. tastes great tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very good...I gave in small jars for baby shower gifts and everyone has requested bigger jars. i did use 1/2 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and 3 different kinds of Pears. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States