Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I make this every fall. Beautiful golden color makes the perfect fall topping for hot biscuts or toast. I cook it in the crockpot on med/high for about 6 hours, saves time and keeps me from standing over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great way to use Pears. It really does taste like honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This makes an amazing topping for ice cream when re-heated with more pineapple juice, cinnamon, and strawberries and/or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissabug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I love pear honey, my mom made it. I cook it in a crock pot for several hours. It turns out wounderful and you don't have to keep a close eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm not a honey fan, but this is a great alternative. Sweet, delicious and perfect. Lots of uses and a wonderful holiday gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Using Asian Pears, I just couldn't get a 'honey' texture no matter how long I cooked/simmered (three batches). I started by pureeing pears in food processor and adding sugar after simmering for several hours. I finally dumped the hot sugar'd pear sauce in the blender (1/2 of it at a time since it wouldn't all fit) and liquefied for 1+ minute. Whala - not quite like the picture, but at least I'm not wondering if I should be using a pearsauce recipe instead of this one. I think the type and ripeness of the pear makes the most difference in how honey like this will turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is so simple and great! I have people asking me if I'm making it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious. I didn't have enough pineapple juice so I added some lemonade to the recipe to keep the pears from browning. It worked well. I also blended the pears after about 1 hour of cooking to speed things along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alawight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe as a base. Used 6 cups of white sugar and a generous handful of dark brown sugar. We have big hard winter pears, so I diced them and simmered with the pineapple juice until soft like applesauce, then used a handheld blender until smooth. Then added the sugar and simmered on low for 2 hours. I removed a teaspoonful at a time, placing in the refrigerator until cold, to check the texture, since the jars will be refrigerated. The mixture darkened and thickened and is delicious... at 6,000 feet I processed them for 20 minutes in the canner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gayle
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
First time making this and turned the heat down to low to cook for three hours. Looks beautiful but is a little too sweet for our liking. We will cut back on the sugar for our second batch and use some brown sugar as suggested in one review. Put the pears in a food processor before cooking and that seemed to help break them down. Will use pears that are more ripe the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States