Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Bought way too many pears from nice man at farmer's market. Saw this recipe and got started. I processed pears in food chopper. Added Splenda instead of sugar. Cooked it down to more the consistency of jam, rather than honey. But boy, it's good on peanut and butter sandwiches to frozen yogurt topping. And it's guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is a terrific recipe! Simmering to the right consistency takes some luck or practice, but I ended up combining two batches to get the proper thickness! Tastes great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Made this today and love it! This recipe probably makes bees feel inadequate because it actually tastes better than honey:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
It tasted great. However my batch had an applesauce consistency; nothing like honey. Is that common?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I can tell the taste would be fabulous, but cooking on medium for just 2 hours ruined the batch. It petrified into more of a hard candy after putting it into jars and cooling. I will probably try it again and cook it at more of a simmer temperature. I guess every stove is different, so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made several jars of this last pear season. It is now my husbands very favorite and we have used every single jar already. Can't wait for my Aunt Ellen to bring me more of her pears to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Oh dear, did I ever flub this up! I ended up halving the recipe, I did 4 c of very ripe pears and simmered in 1 1/2 c pineapple juice, I increased the liquid and left the pears to cook for appx 2 1/2 hours on low. That all worked out very nice, I used my stick blender to smooth out the lumps also. I added 1c sugar and 1c brown sugar and returned the mixture back to a simmer, stirring often, about a half hour, until reduced almost to half. I used the very ripe pears so I could cut back on the sugar, but this is not a jam recipe so it relies on the large quantity of sugar to make it more of a syrup consistancy, where as jams, I find, you can tinker with the sugar a little and still come out okay. Oops...I made pear jam. But it tastes just wonderful and can't wait to try it with almond butter on some fresh bread! Although I'm pleased with my jam, and learned a lesson(I'm super new to canning), I still want to try this recipe again so I can drizzle it over ham! Lol, It's all about the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I was looking for a way to use a bumper crop of pears that was ripening faster than we could eat or can them. Used my Kitchenaid food strainer attachment to puree the ripe pears so we didn't have to peel them. I was so impressed with the first batch, I made two more! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing this. I made my 1st batch last night and doing a 2nd batch today (maybe a 3rd if I have enough pears). Can't wait to share these. This is my new favorite pear recipe! Yummmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I make this every fall. Beautiful golden color makes the perfect fall topping for hot biscuts or toast. I cook it in the crockpot on med/high for about 6 hours, saves time and keeps me from standing over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States