Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is my grandmothers recipe. This year someone gave me some pears and I made it as always. But the pears were different than the ones I have always used. They were soft not the old big hard ones like we raised at home. They did not make it the same. So if you have those big old hard pears that is what you need to use. I hope everyone enjoys this. I know that my grandmother would have loved to share this with everyone. I am making a cooker full right now. THank you again Vickie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Pear Honey is delicious, but I will never make it again. After reading the reviews, I was very nervous about burning it because I only had enough pears to make one batch. I cooked it on low and it took 6 hours to get to the consistency of runny honey. I did not have any more time to babysit this and then, on top of it all, it only made four 8 oz jars! With all of the prep time, cooking time and clean up time, this was not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Folled this recipe exactly the first time. Turned out wonderful. Very tasty. Tried again but was very tired so put it in slow cooker on low over night. Surprisingly tasted great. Much richer and darker in color but wonderful taste and aroma. Also, I used a hand-held electric blender for smoothness. Worked great. Excellent use of pears for gifting. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very good! I used very ripe pears, and my immersion blender to speed up the process. I halfed the recipe and it came out perfect. Thanks for posting this recipe. UPDATE: I used some on my pork chops instead of apple sauce very good. I also used this instead of honey in my salad dressing made of white balsamic vinegar, evoo, and pear honey, that was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This recipe looks so beautiful in the jars! I did cut the sugar down to 6 c., and next time probably will cut it down to 4 c., simply because I think that sugar shouldn't overpower the fruit taste of preserves. Will definitely continue to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This is my second year canning and I'm being much more adventurous. This was a great recipe. It took about four hours on the stove. I also used rock hard pears so first I steamed them then half way through cooking I noticed the pears weren't breaking down so I zipped them in the blender. Great texture. I took another viewers advice and popped in a little candied cherry in the middle. This is my favorite canning recipe thus far I think. Really neat and pretty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
We have 2 pear trees in our yard so I wanted to find a way to use the large quantities of pears we had. I make this last year and everyone loved it. This year I boiled it longer for a thicker jelly and everyone said it was better when it was thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Although to get this "honey" to its desired consistency is much longer than stated, this is a delicious recipe! I found that if the fruit does not want to break down completely the honey can be put through the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
A word of warning--if you're going to make a half- or quarter-size recipe, cut down on the cooking time! I let mine go, thinking it would be fine, (it was the consistency of thick honey when I stopped cooking) and ended up with pear candy! It got hard after it cooled. Fortunately, it hadn't burned, so a few days later I melted it down and added more pineapple juice to recover the honey consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is our third year using this great recipe. I'm so happy to have found it. We give out pear honey as gifts during the holiday season. :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States