Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
THIS IS REALLY GOOD!! IN TH FRIDGE IT IS LIKE LOSE JELLY... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My pears just wouldn't completely dissolve, so the syrup has a slightly overcooked taste. I ended up straining out the bits. I wish I had given up on completely dissolving them a little earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Could you make this with apples in place of pears?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
After reading all the other posts, I decided to minimize the risk of the pears not breaking down by running them through my food processor first. I couldn't find any pineapple juice in the three stores I checked (I know, what is this world coming to...?) I checked out some other recipes and some called for crushed pineapple. So, I added a can of crushed pineapple, and following the advice of wildflower I used half white and half brown sugar. I cooked it slow and low, and it was an immediate hit with everyone! The texture was a little more like a thin applebutter. My next batch, I was a little short on the amount of pears I had pureed, so I grabbed a few more pears and as I was getting ready to throw them in the processor bowl, realized they wouldn't blend well with only that small amount. My Ninja system has an individual cup blender attachment, so I put the last few pears in it. They were totally smooth in a matter of seconds! I decided to run the rest of the batch through it, and the resulting product really was just like a honey consistency! Any of those single serve drink blenders will probably work great. Cook long enough to thicken down, and you will really believe in this as a honey alternative flavor. It's great on toast, waffles, ice cream, or anything we've tried it on. I took a jar with me to my favorite restaurant to use on their scones, and the owner asked what it was. I let her try it, and she immediately asked for the recipe... Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Good, but a little hard to get out of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Turned a dark orange color. Very thick, super sweet & difficult to distinguish any pear flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a grate recipe .I grated the pears and added a can. Of crushed pineapple the last 25 min of cooking ... I didn't. Use the pineapple juice. It was wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe. This is a keeper, tasted so great! However, I did a few different things. I added freshly ground ginger and freshly ground nutmeg. I also cooked it in my crockpot. I put a tea towel under the top to keep the condensation from dripping back into the jam. I put it on high for about 4 to 6 hours. Towards the end I set the lid ajar so as to thicken the honey. This freed me from constant stirring and kept the kitchen cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I use this annually and add cinnamon to some of my batches. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States