Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I've never cared too much for cranberry sauce, but this recipe changed my mind. Made it for Thanksgiving last year and got rave reviews. The pear cuts some of the tartness of the cranberries and the honey adds an unexpected sweetness. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was really tasty. I actually made quite a few changes, so maybe I shouldn't be reviewing it at all, but I really appreciated the fact that this had very little white sugar. In fact next time I might try using honey only. As it was I used a very strong honey, so I only used 1/2 c and left the amount of white sugar at 1/2 c as well. I added about 1/2 c of chopped walnuts and replaced the lemon juice/zest with orange. It made the house smell lovely and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This sauce is simply lovely and such a nice change of pace. Like others, I've cooked it longer (15-20 min) and sometimes replaced the water with OJ. Either way, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this cranberry sauce for our Christmas Day dinner. Had several comments from guests who do not ordinarily like cranberry sauce, but had a taste of this and came back for more. The only change I made was to sub orange juice for the water, and I cooked it for about 15-20 minutes until the pears were cooked through and the cranberries had popped and were blended in well. Thank you, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Amazing, the first time I have ever made cranberry sauce, it was great and I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keyport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving this year to rave reviews. There was one individual who ONLY likes canned jellied cranberry and he really liked it. Even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved it. The sweet and tart flavors compliment each other and it's very easy to make. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was so easy to make and it turned out wonderfully!! It was everyone's Thanksgiving favorite including my own. Note: Ignore the 5 minute instructions after the cranberries are added. It was more like 20-25 minutes for me. You'll LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikanaj
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this sauce as well as another one from this site (Blue Cranberry Sauce) for Thanksgiving this year. They were both a big hit. I preferred the other recipe but many people thought this was the better one. For me the honey flavor was a bit overpowering so when I make again I think I will try cutting the honey to 1/2 cup and increasing sugar to 1 cup to balance the flavors a bit. I recommend making it at least a day or two before you plan on serving it so the flavors can blend and it will be a nice consistency. I made it on a Tuesday and it was perfect on Thursday for Thanksgiving. You'll need to simmer the cranberries for about 15 minutes, not 5 as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was amazing! It was sweet, tart and tangy all at the same time! I added the lemon zest when I added the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States